Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Linux Mint ?


  • Please log in to reply
86 replies to this topic

#1 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,419 Thanks
  • 39,669 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 19, 2015 - 08:43 AM

I have this on a Toshiba Satellite A105-S4004 laptop. The laptop has an external hookup for another monitor. I want to use my big monitor as it easier for me to read. I tried hooking it in and it crashed Cinnamon. How to I get it to work? I found the display folder and it shows the 2 monitors. Do I need to make the big one the primary monitor?


  • chieffan said thank you

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,419 Thanks
  • 39,669 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 19, 2015 - 09:35 AM

I got it to work! :dancingbanana: :dancingbanana:  I even got the printer working! :bounce: :bounce: Now to see if I can get the camera to upload a pic to this machine.


  • chieffan and Tecumseh power have said thanks

#3 chieffan OFFLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 6,147 Thanks
  • 4,491 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted December 19, 2015 - 10:29 AM

I ate the Cinnamon in the from a nice big hot roll for breakfast.  That's why it crashed. :rolling:   :dancingbanana:    :wave:


  • KennyP and WNYTractorTinkerer have said thanks

#4 chieffan OFFLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 6,147 Thanks
  • 4,491 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted December 19, 2015 - 10:30 AM

The more Trouble I hear about Linux the more I am inclined to stay away from it.



#5 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,419 Thanks
  • 39,669 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 19, 2015 - 10:47 AM

The more Trouble I hear about Linux the more I am inclined to stay away from it.

The trouble seems to be in the outside of the machine so far! I haven't a clue what I am doing with it! But I'm learning! At least it is simple and doesn't require a lot of time to restart to fix my 'OOPS' moments.


  • Trav1s and chieffan have said thanks

#6 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 19, 2015 - 11:22 AM

IMO - Mint and Ubuntu are about as painless as any operating system can be.  They even seem to deal with old nVida video chipsets that can be a pain. 

Kenny - have you upgraded to 17.3?  Just read it is well worth the time.


  • KennyP, chieffan and MiCarl have said thanks

#7 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,419 Thanks
  • 39,669 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 19, 2015 - 11:44 AM

IMO - Mint and Ubuntu are about as painless as any operating system can be.  They even seem to deal with old nVida video chipsets that can be a pain. 

Kenny - have you upgraded to 17.3?  Just read it is well worth the time.

I think it has 17.3 in here. One thing with the bigger monitor, I cannot get the resolution any better than 1024 x 768. Cinnamon crashes with anything better. Is there something I can fix there?

 

What's weird is if I move the mouse to the far left of the big monitor, it shows on the laptop monitor. Really cool, though!



#8 MiCarl ONLINE  

MiCarl
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 75926
  • 837 Thanks
  • 480 posts
  • Location: Livonia, MI

Posted December 19, 2015 - 11:46 AM

IMO - Mint and Ubuntu are about as painless as any operating system can be.  They even seem to deal with old nVida video chipsets that can be a pain. 
 

I've got an old Acer notebook that I installed Ubuntu on.  The install was as easy (or easier) than windoze.  It self configured for that old hardware with no input from me.  It certainly works as well as the Windows Vista it came with.

 

I've got one application at my business tying me to Windows.  As soon as I find a suitable replacement I'm going to Linux there too.


  • KennyP and Trav1s have said thanks

#9 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 19, 2015 - 12:24 PM

I think it has 17.3 in here. One thing with the bigger monitor, I cannot get the resolution any better than 1024 x 768. Cinnamon crashes with anything better. Is there something I can fix there?

 

What's weird is if I move the mouse to the far left of the big monitor, it shows on the laptop monitor. Really cool, though!

 

Likely a drive issue.  Probably nVida chipset being a pain OR not enough graphics ram to do different resolutions on two screens OR you have reached the max resolution of the built-in screen.  Give me some time for digging. 


  • KennyP and chieffan have said thanks

#10 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 19, 2015 - 12:25 PM

I've got an old Acer notebook that I installed Ubuntu on.  The install was as easy (or easier) than windoze.  It self configured for that old hardware with no input from me.  It certainly works as well as the Windows Vista it came with.

 

I've got one application at my business tying me to Windows.  As soon as I find a suitable replacement I'm going to Linux there too.

 

You are not the first to say this.  (harsh statement here ---> Sometimes keeping Windows around feels like staying in an abusive relationship.)  I have considered moving the church over to Mint if it were not MS Publisher.  We use google docs for most stuff.


Edited by Trav1s, December 19, 2015 - 12:27 PM.

  • KennyP, HDWildBill and chieffan have said thanks

#11 gopher OFFLINE  

gopher

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2755
  • 566 Thanks
  • 629 posts

Posted December 19, 2015 - 12:59 PM

It sounds like your in sync with your laptop screen. Have you went to your laptop cmos setup to see if option to pick monitor to use? You could try the auto button on monitor see if helps any. With 17.3 should be able to go higher resolution   


Edited by gopher, December 19, 2015 - 01:12 PM.

  • KennyP and chieffan have said thanks

#12 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,702 Thanks
  • 8,557 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 19, 2015 - 01:04 PM

Kenny, sounds like you are in dual monitor mode which would limit you on your resolution like Travis indicated.  I haven't used Cinnamon so I'm not familiar with it.  I'll DL a copy and load it into a VM.


  • KennyP and chieffan have said thanks

#13 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,419 Thanks
  • 39,669 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 19, 2015 - 01:10 PM

I haven't tried BIOS with both monitors hooked up. May do that in a few minutes.



#14 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,702 Thanks
  • 8,557 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 19, 2015 - 01:11 PM

 I have considered moving the church over to Mint if it were not MS Publisher.  We use google docs for most stuff.

 

Maybe this will help.  I hear a lot about Scribus and I believe you will find it in just about all the repositories.


  • Trav1s said thank you

#15 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,702 Thanks
  • 8,557 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 19, 2015 - 01:12 PM

 

I've got one application at my business tying me to Windows.  As soon as I find a suitable replacement I'm going to Linux there too.

 

Is is a proprietary app or a more common app?






Top