Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Ammeter question.


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 coinman66 OFFLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted December 15, 2015 - 07:21 PM

Will this work on a 214? If so how do I wire it up?
Thanks

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20151215_181337.jpg
  • 20151215_181348.jpg


#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,419 Thanks
  • 39,669 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 15, 2015 - 08:01 PM

See if this helps.

JD 214 wiring.JPG


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#3 toppop52 ONLINE  

toppop52
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54420
  • 3,469 Thanks
  • 3,369 posts
  • Location: Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland

Posted December 15, 2015 - 08:08 PM

Honestly, a volt meter is safer, easier to wire and gives more useful information.
  • Marty'70 and coinman66 have said thanks

#4 BigFlash OFFLINE  

BigFlash

    New Member

  • Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 7324
  • 150 Thanks
  • 88 posts
  • Location: Lancaster PA

Posted December 15, 2015 - 09:11 PM

That should fit in the hole no problem. The issue i think you might run into is instead of two wire terminals that bolt on the back of the meter like the gauge you have there. The deere meter you simply push a section of wire into a grove on the back of the gauge. So your wiring harness likely won't have terminals to connect to that gauge. 



#5 coinman66 OFFLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted December 15, 2015 - 09:31 PM

That should fit in the hole no problem. The issue i think you might run into is instead of two wire terminals that bolt on the back of the meter like the gauge you have there. The deere meter you simply push a section of wire into a grove on the back of the gauge. So your wiring harness likely won't have terminals to connect to that gauge.


Yah it fits in hole ok. I didn't have a guage, it was missing so I bought this. So are u saying I can use this but just hook wiring to one terminal?

#6 BigFlash OFFLINE  

BigFlash

    New Member

  • Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 7324
  • 150 Thanks
  • 88 posts
  • Location: Lancaster PA

Posted December 15, 2015 - 09:48 PM

There deere ones were an inductive type that didn't require any ring terminals, The picture below should help.

 

 

M20721_________UN01JAN94.gif

 You would likely need to cut the wire that would normally get pushed into the back of the meter  and install two ring terminals onto those cut ends and attach them to your new ammeter


  • Alc, KennyP and coinman66 have said thanks

#7 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,746 Thanks
  • 1,398 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted December 15, 2015 - 10:17 PM

I think the + side should be connected to the wire that comes from the battery.  - side to the switch.  to make to work right.



#8 coinman66 OFFLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted December 15, 2015 - 10:28 PM

Got it guys. Had a looped red wire on my harness that I believe started at ignition swithch, so I cut that loop, installed round wire terminals and hooked it to each guage posts. Now when I turn the key on it points to the negative and when it starts and throttle it up it points to the positive side.
Thanks for all your help!
  • Alc said thank you

#9 crittersf1 OFFLINE  

crittersf1

    GT Lunatic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 26142
  • 4,167 Thanks
  • 5,759 posts
  • Location: Newport, N.C.

Posted December 16, 2015 - 09:04 AM

Sounds like it works!


  • coinman66 said thank you




Top