Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Glad i gave it a second chance!


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 skyrydr2 ONLINE  

skyrydr2

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,418 Thanks
  • 3,164 posts
  • Location: Gardner, Massachusetts!

Posted December 11, 2015 - 06:44 PM

My woodsplitter has a world engines 9hp engine on it purchased new by me in 2011... Well it ran great for about a season when it was parked. Well I could never get it to run decent so I was getting ready to clean it off the splitter with a sledge hammer when I decided to try one more thing, disconnect the stupid oil sensor....DOH!!!!!!!!!!! I pulled the cord and it started faster than instant and ran flawless and has been ever since. Boy I'm glad I made a second effort.
And yes it was full of oil this is what threw me for a loop.
  • olcowhand, Alc, KennyP and 4 others have said thanks

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,486 Thanks
  • 39,722 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 11, 2015 - 07:00 PM

Those sensors have caused more headaches! Glad you gave it another go!


  • skyrydr2, Chopperhed and chieffan have said thanks

#3 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,651 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted December 11, 2015 - 07:03 PM

Sensors have their place, but on something like this where you're right there with the machine in case of a leak, they aren't really needed.  I too had an issue with one messing things up.


  • skyrydr2 and Chopperhed have said thanks

#4 Chopperhed OFFLINE  

Chopperhed
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 20120
  • 1,852 Thanks
  • 1,071 posts
  • Location: Edmonton, Ab, Canada

Posted December 11, 2015 - 07:04 PM

On my clone engines,I rewire them to an indicator light.
  • MH81, wvbuzzmaster, KennyP and 2 others have said thanks

#5 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,486 Thanks
  • 39,722 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 11, 2015 - 07:13 PM

On my clone engines,I rewire them to an indicator light.

On the ones I've seen, you're out of oil before they work. Damage is already done!


  • Chopperhed and chieffan have said thanks

#6 skyrydr2 ONLINE  

skyrydr2

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,418 Thanks
  • 3,164 posts
  • Location: Gardner, Massachusetts!

Posted December 11, 2015 - 07:22 PM

As Dan said, your right there with it so that stupid thing is going to find itself missing its wire !! I don't want anyone borrowing it to plug it back in...good grief, this has been an issue for years, every time I wanted to use it I could never quite get it running enough to use it! Most annoying... Cleaned carb a bunch of times but never made a difference. Yup, this won't happen again, lesson learned...
  • Alc, KennyP and chieffan have said thanks

#7 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6172
  • 3,566 Thanks
  • 3,950 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted December 11, 2015 - 07:33 PM

Those little things can be so aggrevating. Then there is the guy who depends on it, and locks up his engine when it doesn't shut it down in time.


  • skyrydr2 said thank you

#8 devans OFFLINE  

devans
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68585
  • 367 Thanks
  • 256 posts
  • Location: Charlestown, R.I.

Posted December 11, 2015 - 08:02 PM

My generator has a low oil shut off too that doesn't work. It drove me nuts trying to figure out why the motor wouldn't start, same as you I finally unplugged the wire and it fired right up. Haven't replaced the sensor yet, probably not going to.


  • Alc and skyrydr2 have said thanks

#9 Chopperhed OFFLINE  

Chopperhed
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 20120
  • 1,852 Thanks
  • 1,071 posts
  • Location: Edmonton, Ab, Canada

Posted December 11, 2015 - 08:08 PM

On the ones I've seen, you're out of oil before they work. Damage is already done!


I use the engines for things they weren't designed for. At least an indicator light won't kill the engine because its not level or something else stupid. I know how to check the oil. but most clones are designed for stationary use, tilting them too far can lead to the oil flowing away from the float switch and causing problems.
  • Alc and skyrydr2 have said thanks

#10 chieffan ONLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 6,166 Thanks
  • 4,507 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted December 11, 2015 - 08:52 PM

On the ones I've seen, you're out of oil before they work. Damage is already done!

Dito.  Just like the idiot lights they had in the cars for a few years.






Top