Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Linux installation help


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#16 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 06, 2015 - 10:34 PM

Oh dear... I forget how to look up specs when I am not using Mint.  


  • KennyP and chieffan have said thanks

#17 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,702 Thanks
  • 8,557 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 06, 2015 - 10:50 PM

Sorry, we have one of our grandson's over and I told him I would watch a movie with him.

 

It has been a while since I have used Mint but look under the system or administration section of the start menu.  Look for an app called system info.  If it isn't there you can open the Software center and do a search and tell it to install it.  If will give you all the spec's on your computer.  Have you installed it to the HDD, Kenny?

 

Thanks for helping Travis.  I'm going to split this out to it's own thread.


  • Trav1s and chieffan have said thanks

#18 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,421 Thanks
  • 39,670 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 06, 2015 - 10:54 PM

It is 2 GB.


  • chieffan said thank you

#19 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,746 Thanks
  • 1,398 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted December 06, 2015 - 11:33 PM

KennyP

see the following link to change the BIOS to start the boot order for you laptop

http://support.toshi...ail?soid=627009

 

also look at this

http://support.toshi...ail?soid=403623

 

You can change the order which your laptop will look for first, second, third, etc.

To boot from the DVD/CD it should be in the boot first.  The hard drive need to follow.

Having the boot order like this it will look for the DVD/CD first and if there is a DVD in the drive it will boot

if not it looks what is the second drive options to boot from

 

I hope this helps

good luck


Edited by lyall, December 06, 2015 - 11:41 PM.

  • KennyP, Trav1s, HDWildBill and 1 other said thanks

#20 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,421 Thanks
  • 39,670 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 07, 2015 - 07:17 AM

I got it installed as a stand alone! Seems to work just fine. I'll play with it some more to learn how it works. I had it online last night! :dancingbanana:

 

Lyall, I knew about the boot order change. I was trying to put a 64 bit program on a 32 bit machine. That would not work. I now have a USB Linux Mint (32 bit)boot stick!


  • olcowhand and chieffan have said thanks

#21 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 07, 2015 - 07:52 AM

Woohoo!  You are on your way to being a competent Linux user.  Just remember you can create a Linux live USB drive from about any distro and play around with them. 


  • KennyP and chieffan have said thanks

#22 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,421 Thanks
  • 39,670 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 07, 2015 - 08:00 AM

I'm on the laptop right now!  :dancingbanana:  Kind of grazing about to see how I like it! Seems to work just great! Glad it came with Firefox! I'll play on it some more today.


  • olcowhand and chieffan have said thanks

#23 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,612 Thanks
  • 29,834 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted December 07, 2015 - 08:04 AM

Bill has been trying to get me to try these OS for a long time, but being stubborn about changes has kept me from it.  If I ever lose another HD though, I think I will install it.  Heck, I may get another HD just to see how I like it ahead of trouble.


  • KennyP and chieffan have said thanks

#24 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 07, 2015 - 08:27 AM

Bill has been trying to get me to try these OS for a long time, but being stubborn about changes has kept me from it.  If I ever lose another HD though, I think I will install it.  Heck, I may get another HD just to see how I like it ahead of trouble.

 

 

If you create a Live CD or USB drive you can play with Linux and not touch the hard drive (if you pay attention to prompts).  Give it a try. 


  • olcowhand and chieffan have said thanks

#25 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,421 Thanks
  • 39,670 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 07, 2015 - 09:07 AM

Travis is correct. I have been wanting to try this for some time. The Trojan on the laptop (XP Pro) made that possible. I downloaded the Linux Mint to the computer, but had to try 3 different ISO burners to get it to work right. The one I like is unetbootin-windows-613. It gave a better screen to burn the files to the USB stick. Then change the boot sequence to find the USB and it waas simple from there. You do have the option to install or not. I chose to do the install without Windows to get rid of the Trojan. Comes with Firefox already in it. I need to check a few other things out like opening PDF's, watching videos, and screenshots. Those are the main items I need for the forum.

Speaking of Firefox, can I Sync it with this computer to get the favorites?


  • chieffan said thank you

#26 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 07, 2015 - 09:59 AM

Travis is correct. I have been wanting to try this for some time. The Trojan on the laptop (XP Pro) made that possible. I downloaded the Linux Mint to the computer, but had to try 3 different ISO burners to get it to work right. The one I like is unetbootin-windows-613. It gave a better screen to burn the files to the USB stick. Then change the boot sequence to find the USB and it waas simple from there. You do have the option to install or not. I chose to do the install without Windows to get rid of the Trojan. Comes with Firefox already in it. I need to check a few other things out like opening PDF's, watching videos, and screenshots. Those are the main items I need for the forum.

Speaking of Firefox, can I Sync it with this computer to get the favorites?

 

You should be able to do that thru the Firefox preferences which are set up like Firefox for PC


  • KennyP and chieffan have said thanks

#27 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,421 Thanks
  • 39,670 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 07, 2015 - 10:21 AM

Thanks, Travis.


  • chieffan said thank you

#28 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,702 Thanks
  • 8,557 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 07, 2015 - 10:51 AM

Glad you have it up and running.   :thumbs:  One thing I should mention is that not all distro's come with Firefox pre-installed some come with Chrome. But don't worry because if you like a certain browser and it is not there then simply go to the software manager (it is call different names in many distros) and install your favorite browser or program.

 

By default you will have a program for PDF's but if you don't like that perticular one you can go to the software manager and enter PDF and choose another one.  Also Kenny you may be interested in Master PDF Editor, I know we have it in our repository (PCLOS) but I'm not sure about Mint.


  • KennyP and chieffan have said thanks




Top