Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Linux installation help


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,503 Thanks
  • 39,730 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 06, 2015 - 05:19 PM

My laptop got a trojan in it!!!! Can't even do anything in Safe Mode! So I am downloading Linux to put on it. Will this format the drive? There will be no Windows on it!


  • chieffan said thank you

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,503 Thanks
  • 39,730 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 06, 2015 - 06:10 PM

Need some help! I used Travis' link in post 6. Went to the Linux site and downloaded. Then went to the Pendrive site and downloaded that. Ran it to put the Linux on the USB. Started the laptop and changed the boot to the USB. Now it says no operating system!


  • chieffan said thank you

#3 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 06, 2015 - 07:05 PM

What?!?  Linux will install only if you tell it to and it double checks before going.  Did the HD on the laptop die?


  • chieffan said thank you

#4 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,503 Thanks
  • 39,730 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 06, 2015 - 07:32 PM

Could be! This Trojan has been in it a while & I kept turning it off until I could mess with it. For some reason, I'd find it running again several days later. And it got very warm!


  • chieffan said thank you

#5 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,712 Thanks
  • 8,564 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 06, 2015 - 08:42 PM

Maybe a root kit.  If it is it may be very difficult to get rid of.  First off pull the batter out of the laptop so it is completely shut down.  Then burn a copy of the Linux distro to a DVD, using your desktop computer, and then tell the laptop to use the DVD.  If that doesn't work you may want to try something like System Rescue.

 

But if you can't boot from a DVD straight away then I think you have some serious issues.

 

Kenny when you get the installer working it will ask you weather you want it to take over the whole hard drive or install along side windows or any other OS that may be installed.  You just check a check box on what option you want.  If you choose the whole hdd then it will be wiped completely clean, reformatted and partitioned.  But if it is a root kit this may not do the trick.


  • KennyP, Trav1s and chieffan have said thanks

#6 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 06, 2015 - 08:43 PM

Kenny sent me a message:

 

 

It won't do anything. The Safe Mode screen is blank. Loading windows just gets a background screen! Got the cmd prompt up and it won't format or change directories! Tried booting off the USB stick and got the No System Files error.

 

and I responded with this:
 

 

Ok. From what you have shared in the message I believe can make two fair deductions:

 

1.  The USB drive with the bootable Linux image is not valid

 

2.  Windows is not healthy

 

Is this Win7?  Does the machine have a restore partition?  Do you have a Win7 install DVD that you can boot to and "repair" the current install??


Edited by Trav1s, December 06, 2015 - 08:48 PM.

  • chieffan said thank you

#7 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 06, 2015 - 08:47 PM

Maybe a root kit.  If it is it may be very difficult to get rid of.  First off pull the batter out of the laptop so it is completely shut down.  Then burn a copy of the Linux distro to a DVD, using your desktop computer, and then tell the laptop to use the DVD.  If that doesn't work you may want to try something like System Rescue.

 

But if you can't boot from a DVD straight away then I think you have some serious issues.

 

Kenny when you get the installer working it will ask you weather you want it to take over the whole hard drive or install along side windows or any other OS that may be installed.  You just check a check box on what option you want.  If you choose the whole hdd then it will be wiped completely clean, reformatted and partitioned.  But if it is a root kit this may not do the trick.

 

I am afraid it is something REALLY bad.  Great suggestion on the bootable DVD.  Kaspersky has a great rescue disk image that worked well on some ransom ware I encountered on a friend's machine.  You can try making a CD and booting to it to see if you can find the problem but I am not hopeful.  

 

http://support.kaspe...edisk#downloads

 

I am afraid the heat caught up with the HD and it is in a bad place.

 

Bill, can we spin this off into another thread for future reference??


Edited by Trav1s, December 06, 2015 - 08:48 PM.

  • KennyP and chieffan have said thanks

#8 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,712 Thanks
  • 8,564 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 06, 2015 - 08:53 PM

I think a DVD is the better option.  Once the image is burned nothing can mess with it. But on a USB drive it is still open to be hacked.   If the HDD is suspected of being an issue then it might be better to replace it.  Most online retailers are having some good sales right now.  I know Newegg is.


  • KennyP, Trav1s and chieffan have said thanks

#9 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 06, 2015 - 08:56 PM

Either that Or I might have an extra in my stash.  SATA or IDE?  :-)


  • chieffan said thank you

#10 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,503 Thanks
  • 39,730 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 06, 2015 - 09:17 PM

Okay! I downloaded unetbootin-windows-613 and got it to find the USB. But I got this error message:

This kernel requires an x86-64 cpu, but only detected an i686 cpu. Unable to boot- pleaseuse a kernel appropriate for your cpu.

 

 

Did I download the wrong Mint? I got the 64 bit one.


  • chieffan said thank you

#11 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 06, 2015 - 09:41 PM

Okay! I downloaded unetbootin-windows-613 and got it to find the USB. But I got this error message:

This kernel requires an x86-64 cpu, but only detected an i686 cpu. Unable to boot- pleaseuse a kernel appropriate for your cpu.

 

 

Did I download the wrong Mint? I got the 64 bit one.

 

you need the x86 AKA 32-bit version since your old lappy will not support the 64-bit OS.


  • KennyP and chieffan have said thanks

#12 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,503 Thanks
  • 39,730 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 06, 2015 - 09:46 PM

I'm downloading that right now! I thought that's what the error meant, but didn't know what they meant by 'kernel'. This is a Toshiba Satellite A 105 laptop!


  • chieffan said thank you

#13 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 06, 2015 - 09:50 PM

I'm downloading that right now! I thought that's what the error meant, but didn't know what they meant by 'kernel'. This is a Toshiba Satellite A 105 laptop!

 

2 gigs of ram in it or less?


  • KennyP and chieffan have said thanks

#14 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,503 Thanks
  • 39,730 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 06, 2015 - 10:25 PM

I'm on the laptop right now! It loaded up just fine once I got the right iso and burn program. No Windows on this machine!


  • chieffan said thank you

#15 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,503 Thanks
  • 39,730 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 06, 2015 - 10:26 PM

2 gigs of ram in it or less?

I'll have to look that up. Been too long!

How do you find that on here?


  • chieffan said thank you




Top