Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Testing an ignition switch

gravely 18h ignition

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,907 Thanks
  • 4,965 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted December 05, 2015 - 02:20 PM

I started my Gravely today and she ran for a bit then died. Nothing through the regular circuit. Now I suspect the switch. Is there any way of testing it?

#2 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,907 Thanks
  • 4,965 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted December 05, 2015 - 04:21 PM

I found a video on checking continuity in a switch. Nothing.... Also, running a cheater wire across the switch plug it would start cranking. So it's time to order one. Who knows if that is the whole problem or not. The wiring harness has about two miles of tape on it and lots of loose ends hanging out. Really hacked up. I should really rewire the whole thing. But if I start now, guaranteed it will give a sizeable snow before I am done.
  • Alc, boyscout862 and Paulgo have said thanks

#3 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8923
  • 11,994 Thanks
  • 8,778 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted December 05, 2015 - 05:12 PM

I found a video on checking continuity in a switch. Nothing.... Also, running a cheater wire across the switch plug it would start cranking. So it's time to order one. Who knows if that is the whole problem or not. The wiring harness has about two miles of tape on it and lots of loose ends hanging out. Really hacked up. I should really rewire the whole thing. But if I start now, guaranteed it will give a sizeable snow before I am done.

That is why we have multiple tractors as backup. You need to find the troubleshooting guide that has the right wiring diagram for your application. The best way to test the switch is with and ohmmeter or a continuity tester. You test which circuits are working at each position of the key. There are several guides on this in the Manuals Section. I'll look for them too. Good Luck, Rick


Edited by boyscout862, December 05, 2015 - 05:12 PM.

  • shorty and Paulgo have said thanks

#4 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,907 Thanks
  • 4,965 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted December 05, 2015 - 05:28 PM

There are too many loose ends and open circuits to go by any diagrams. I have several sets of schematics on the wiring and very little holds out. Its a tractor that has had an interesting previous owner. I am at least the fourth owner.
  • MH81 said thank you

#5 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 29,960 Thanks
  • 29,757 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 05, 2015 - 07:51 PM

Hoping the switch is all it is.
  • shorty said thank you

#6 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,907 Thanks
  • 4,965 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted December 05, 2015 - 10:54 PM

Hoping the switch is all it is.

I hope so too. But I am not counting on it. I am fighting a bunch of corrosion in the wiring.

#7 olds45512 ONLINE  

olds45512
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77943
  • 1,271 Thanks
  • 646 posts
  • Location: Indiana PA

Posted December 05, 2015 - 11:33 PM

sounds like its time to bite the bullet and rewire it, there's nothing i hate more than a tractor with electrical problems. if its to the point where the wiring makes it unreliable then it needs redone.


  • shorty and boyscout862 have said thanks

#8 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,907 Thanks
  • 4,965 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted December 08, 2015 - 09:06 PM

I think I have an oddball. The dealer wants to see the old parts before he sells me a new one. Too many variables and no part numbers.

#9 lrhredjb OFFLINE  

lrhredjb

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3984
  • 603 Thanks
  • 520 posts
  • Location: Noblesville,IN

Posted December 08, 2015 - 09:49 PM

I thought I had a bad ignition switch on my CC106 but after troubleshooting it for a while it turned out to be severe
corrosion on 1 of the 3 terminals of the switch. Some De-oxit and sandpaper and its good as new.
  • shorty and boyscout862 have said thanks

#10 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,907 Thanks
  • 4,965 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted December 08, 2015 - 10:10 PM

The one terminal is darkened like it burned off inside. And testing gives me an open circuit off that terminal. Others are corroded but giving full circuit reading.

#11 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 6,554 Thanks
  • 7,302 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted December 09, 2015 - 06:45 AM

Does Gravely sell the connector and terminals or a pigtail for your tractor's ignition switch  ?


  • shorty said thank you

#12 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,907 Thanks
  • 4,965 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted December 09, 2015 - 06:56 AM

Does Gravely sell the connector and terminals or a pigtail for your tractor's ignition switch ?

I will find out when I get the old one taken over. The dealer didn't trust going off my description over the phone. He wants to physically match it up.
  • Alc said thank you

#13 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 6,554 Thanks
  • 7,302 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted December 09, 2015 - 08:57 AM

If the back of the switch has one big plug and he doesn't carry them maybe you and find one the matches , even if you have to remove or add a wire . I used a International truck ignition connector on our Hyster's ignition switch , blank connector and made it into a pigtail to replace the melted Hyster one . Looked like this one but I'm sure there are other styles available

 

288bptpic.jpg


  • shorty said thank you

#14 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,907 Thanks
  • 4,965 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted December 12, 2015 - 05:35 PM

I got to thinking over this today. I took an old switch and with a bit of rewiring, it started. This will work til I get a right ignition. It definitely will make it a one person machine. Doubt anyone else will get it started.😊
  • Alc, boyscout862 and Paulgo have said thanks

#15 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

    HAZMAT CAT

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 13,368 Thanks
  • 9,735 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted December 12, 2015 - 06:34 PM

I think posting pictures of the whole machine from many angles would help immensely.  :thumbs:


  • boyscout862 and Paulgo have said thanks





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: gravely 18h, ignition

Top