Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

Happy to be here. Old man with another new interest!

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Tallbald OFFLINE  

Tallbald
  • Member No: 78207
  • 72 Thanks
  • 24 posts

Posted November 30, 2015 - 06:41 AM

Good morning. I'm Don, and live in Bowling Green, KY. My first GT love was Daddy's new Kubota B6000DT in 1976, with a factory tiller and front end loader. Daddy passed away, farm had to be sold, and the little Bota went away. Life took some odd turns, and now 40 years later and forced into retirement I have lots of time but less money with which to entertain myself. I do some custom leather crafting (primarily heavy duty laminated belts) and black powder  revolver holsters, some wood crafting and gardening when I can.

In 2004 I had a little ten acre farm. In need of a small tractor, I was discussing my plight with a doctor friend (I'm a retired ER nurse) who shared that he had in one of his barns an old Kubota L185 tractor with a Woods belly mower. Very interested, I asked his price. He only wanted $750. Well slap me sillier! I came to look it over and the deal was sealed. With only 1100 hours on the clock, it had been serviced regularly by the dealer who would come pick it up and return it after service. It needed a new battery and fresh fuel, and has a dent in the hood where his father had run it smack dab into a tree while mowing (Ouch).

Fast forward to today. My little farm was sold when I was forced to move back to town in 2008. Since then, my Kubota has been on loan to my retired farmer father in law. She's stayed in an open-end barn since then and has been used to mow and bush hog with the attachments I also kept and loaned to him. She's now dirty and oily looking, but has to the best of my understanding been routinely maintained with oil changes and such.