Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

whadda-U-think


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Gtractor OFFLINE  

Gtractor

    The Tractor Hoarder

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 782
  • 6,582 Thanks
  • 3,897 posts
  • Location: Chillicothe, MO

Posted October 25, 2015 - 02:16 PM

Do you think I couldda got another winter out of this?  :toilethead:

 

This was the exhaust off my house furnace.  I noticed it was rusted through in one small spot last fall and split a green bean can lengthways and hose clamped it around the one hole.  This fall I decided the carbon monoxide would be leaking so I replaced it all with new.  

Of course it didn't look this bad until I banged it around removing it.   It was hard to remove it was so crusty.  This pipe was put in new on Janurary 5th 1992. 

 

pipe.jpg


  • hamman, wvbuzzmaster, Lauber1 and 3 others have said thanks

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,366 Thanks
  • 39,644 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted October 25, 2015 - 02:26 PM

Glad you got that replaced!


  • Gtractor and boyscout862 have said thanks

#3 glgrumpy ONLINE  

glgrumpy

    Getting Out!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,647 Thanks
  • 6,460 posts
  • Location: Huntington, IN 46750 North East in State

Posted October 25, 2015 - 03:13 PM

Must be gas to be that small???  Still thinking where goes out roof is supposed to be a 5 or 6" dual or triple wall chimney maybe???  That is what I would be putting back in, NOT what you have there in size or shape. Best check with your local building inspector for correct required items.   Think your choking your furnace maybe?


  • Gtractor and boyscout862 have said thanks

#4 hamman OFFLINE  

hamman

    Homelite Owner Extraordinaire

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1733
  • 5,625 Thanks
  • 2,577 posts
  • Location: Michigan

Posted October 25, 2015 - 03:43 PM

I would get the heatexchanger looked at to make sure it's not cracked and leaking carbon monoxide into the house. Glad you got it fixxed before winter.         

Roger


  • Gtractor and boyscout862 have said thanks

#5 Bill 76 OFFLINE  

Bill 76
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 49625
  • 1,639 Thanks
  • 1,054 posts
  • Location: 5miles west of Milwaukee Wisconsin

Posted October 25, 2015 - 04:19 PM

Glad you found it before it killed you 


  • Gtractor said thank you

#6 LilysDad ONLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,594 Thanks
  • 7,654 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted October 25, 2015 - 04:44 PM

>tsk< you didn't have to replace the whole thing. That's just a waste of good pipe.


  • Gtractor and Lauber1 have said thanks

#7 Gtractor OFFLINE  

Gtractor

    The Tractor Hoarder

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 782
  • 6,582 Thanks
  • 3,897 posts
  • Location: Chillicothe, MO

Posted October 25, 2015 - 04:46 PM

Yes propane furnace rated at 80 % efficient.  The house is probably only 12% efficient.  :rolling:

This is 3 inch diameter pipe.  Once the dirty air gets past these two straight pieces and two elbows it goes into a 6 inch dia. aluminum expandable sleeve that lines the old brick chimney.   There is a small squirrel cage blower on the furnace's exhaust that helps move the waste air.

When the guy installed all this in 1992 he said the brick of the chimney wouldn't take the exhaust from this furnace so thats why it has the liner. 

I remember getting up on the roof, stretching out, and dropping the sleeve down through the brick chimney back then.

I kept a pretty close watch on it all last winter, running my hands along the pipe while the furnace was running to check for leaks. 


Edited by Gtractor, October 25, 2015 - 04:47 PM.

  • hamman, wvbuzzmaster and Lauber1 have said thanks

#8 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,568 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted October 25, 2015 - 05:00 PM

Had to replace mine last year, but not quite as rotten as yours was.  Mine uses 4", and also has forced combustion air.  There are safety switches in case there is a vent blockage that shuts down the flame, but none for if the vent is open from rust or whatever, so I'm glad you replaced this.  Please use 3 or 4 sheet metal screws to secure each joint.  The expanding & contracting can cause joints to work apart.


  • Gtractor and hamman have said thanks

#9 hamman OFFLINE  

hamman

    Homelite Owner Extraordinaire

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1733
  • 5,625 Thanks
  • 2,577 posts
  • Location: Michigan

Posted October 25, 2015 - 05:06 PM

Aluminum liners are common for old brick / block chimneys. 3" to 6" is a little big. Appears there is a lot of condensation and is likely why the pipe rusted as bad as it did. That being said it is not uncommon to do it that way and around here it is code to do so. Just glad you got it fixed. CO is nothing to mess with.    Roger


  • Gtractor said thank you

#10 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,218 Thanks
  • 28,589 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted October 25, 2015 - 07:28 PM

Geez, a little duct tape and you would've been fine...
J/k, glad you changed it and no one was harmed.
  • Gtractor said thank you




Top