Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

cub 1320 help!


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 timothy OFFLINE  

timothy

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 2587
  • 0 Thanks
  • 32 posts
  • Location: Hilliard, Ohio

Posted April 15, 2011 - 05:35 PM

what pole on ignition switch is the batt
because some one riped out the wire and i need to find out where it goes
thanks

#2 onan302 OFFLINE  

onan302

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 1006
  • 4 Thanks
  • 64 posts
  • Location: Maryland

Posted April 17, 2011 - 12:23 AM

hmm it should say on the back of the switch.. how many poles are on the switch?

#3 timothy OFFLINE  

timothy

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 2587
  • 0 Thanks
  • 32 posts
  • Location: Hilliard, Ohio

Posted April 17, 2011 - 09:10 PM

5 but the 2 middle are not stamped :(

#4 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted April 18, 2011 - 04:34 AM

You should be able to test it with a meter.

#5 EricFromPa OFFLINE  

EricFromPa

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2135
  • 2,300 Thanks
  • 2,334 posts
  • Location: Bedford County Pa.

Posted April 18, 2011 - 04:59 AM

Best I can do is give you a Diagram.
It's not very clear and it's rather sloppy,but it may be enough to help.
Clipped it from PartsTree http://www.partstree...b_cadet&mn=1320

Attached Thumbnails

  • dispdiagimg.jpg

  • NUTNDUN said thank you

#6 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted April 18, 2011 - 05:37 AM

The battery terminal on the ignition switches is usually out at the end, whether it be top or bottom or left side or right side. It would be nice if there were only two switches made, one 3 terminal and one 5 terminal and all tractors used one or the other but there are a lot of variations in the designs, or at least in the terminal locations.

If you have a continuity tester you should be able to find the batt terminal by putting one lead on the wire going to the positive side of the coil and the batt terminal will be the only one that closes the circuit when the switch is turned on.
  • EricFromPa said thank you

#7 timothy OFFLINE  

timothy

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 2587
  • 0 Thanks
  • 32 posts
  • Location: Hilliard, Ohio

Posted April 18, 2011 - 07:47 AM

the only problem is is that there is no bat wire i need to put one in the harness beacuse someone removed it lol
the only thing on switch is (s) (m) (g) no (l) or (b)

#8 EricFromPa OFFLINE  

EricFromPa

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2135
  • 2,300 Thanks
  • 2,334 posts
  • Location: Bedford County Pa.

Posted April 18, 2011 - 11:27 AM

The battery terminal on the ignition switches is usually out at the end, whether it be top or bottom or left side or right side. It would be nice if there were only two switches made, one 3 terminal and one 5 terminal and all tractors used one or the other but there are a lot of variations in the designs, or at least in the terminal locations.

If you have a continuity tester you should be able to find the batt terminal by putting one lead on the wire going to the positive side of the coil and the batt terminal will be the only one that closes the circuit when the switch is turned on.



I also wish that they made only 1 of the 3 pole and 1 of the 5 pole switch.
If you happen to get the wrong one if replacing the switch and hook it up like the original one you will cook the "stator" as soon as you turn the key on.
I've cooked a few "stators" and popped a few fuses before I figured out how to check the wiring for the correct switch.

#9 timothy OFFLINE  

timothy

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 2587
  • 0 Thanks
  • 32 posts
  • Location: Hilliard, Ohio

Posted April 18, 2011 - 08:45 PM

i may have done that to day because no matter where i put that wire it arced




Top