Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Where is hydraulic drain plug on New Holland S14?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 coinman66 ONLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted October 07, 2015 - 06:01 PM

Can't find hydraulic drain plug on my S14? Any help would be appreciated greatly.
Thanks

#2 Natureboy OFFLINE  

Natureboy
  • Member
  • Member No: 49649
  • 73 Thanks
  • 86 posts
  • Location: Upstate NY

Posted October 07, 2015 - 06:11 PM

I'm not sure what hydro you have there, the Vickers or Sunstrand. On my S16H with the Sunstrand there was no drain plug. Disconnect the very bottom most line and let her drain.

#3 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6172
  • 3,509 Thanks
  • 3,907 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted October 07, 2015 - 07:47 PM

I think it is a Vickers. I can't remember if they have the hose coming off the bottom of rear.

#4 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted October 07, 2015 - 08:09 PM

Yes your new holland S-14 has the vickers & I believe they are set up the same as sunstrand. I will go out tmr and look for you if you don't get a definite answer b4 then

#5 coinman66 ONLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted October 07, 2015 - 11:30 PM

Yes it's a Vickers

#6 coinman66 ONLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted October 08, 2015 - 03:07 PM

I got it drained guys. I did like u said and took lowest fitting off. Not very easy, but it's done. Now time to fill her up with some 10w 30.
Thanks
  • 1964Deere and wvbuzzmaster have said thanks

#7 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted October 11, 2015 - 06:09 PM

Ariens factory manual calls for 5w30, just an FYI

#8 Jimithin7000 OFFLINE  

Jimithin7000
  • Member
  • Member No: 78593
  • 11 Thanks
  • 9 posts
  • Location: New Hartford CT

Posted December 11, 2015 - 08:04 PM

Something to consider is what I did - I had an issue last year where the tractor would fire up and run well but not move - now I haven't owned it that long so I ended up checking a few things. 

 

Found that the fluid looked like chocolate milk. So I replaced the filter and used a tube tool (it has a plunger handle on one end you pull back and on the other end a hose - sort of opposite of getting a shot in your arm.) I sucked as much filthy fluid out as I could and refilled - then rode it so the pump circulated fluid and repeated until the fluid looked good after taking it around the yard for some laps. 

 

Saves you disconnecting a fitting. I used 5W30 tractor oil I got from my local Napa store. Worked very well 






Top