Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Mower belt issue on Custom 10xl


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Firefighter912 OFFLINE  

Firefighter912
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72788
  • 12 Thanks
  • 123 posts
  • Location: GA

Posted October 04, 2015 - 11:36 PM

Ok, I thought I got the right belt for this thing. It mowed good and couple times the belt smoked when I was in some thick grass so I stopped and pulled out. I'm thinking that was the issue and caused the belt to stretch. Anyone know the exact belt size? In the picture you can see the belt number. The belt tries to also engage the mower when I am riding along as well when I don't have the mower engaged.

 

This thing has mowed in some thick stuff but now this has stopped me.

 

Here is the video too...does it sound like it is running decent as well? The choke has to be played with to keep it running good in some cases.

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20151004_115926_441.jpg
  • IMG_20150930_114934_084.jpg
  • IMG_20150930_123735_291.jpg

  • Bolens 1000 said thank you

#2 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,680 Thanks
  • 17,200 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted October 05, 2015 - 07:04 AM

That belt looks like a regular automotive belt and is not designed for clutching applications, do you have the actual sears part number for the belt? or the deck model?

I should have a nice kevlar one on the shelf for you.



#3 chris m OFFLINE  

chris m

    Tractorholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8148
  • 3,277 Thanks
  • 4,033 posts
  • Location: Charlestown,Rhode Island

Posted October 05, 2015 - 11:47 AM

The size of the belt is correct, The actual number is supposed to be 1563R (5/8 x 50). deck looks like a 917.252010 model.

 

What type of deck engagement do you have, The lever on the deck or the lever with cable attached to the tractor?

 

If it is the cable type, you can adjust it so it won't spin while not engaged. Also make sure the pulleys are in good condition, pitting and rust can cause these issues also. ( It did on mine) Not sure if there is an adjustment on the other type?

 

The engine is "hunting" either the carb is out of adjustment, you have an air leak at the carb ( base gasket,throttle shaft etc...) or it (carb) needs a good cleaning and rebuild. Have you tried to adjust the high speed  needle?


  • Bolens 1000 and Alc have said thanks

#4 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,680 Thanks
  • 17,200 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted October 05, 2015 - 12:24 PM

It also appears the belt is already wearing down to the rubber on the sides which will cause the belt to run loose, the Truflex is a FHP belt meaning "Fractional HP" the originals would have been a covered power rated belt for clutching drives, going off the numbers chris m was able to provide we do stock that belt in a Kevlar type

 

https://bolenspartsa...tor-drive-belt/


  • Alc and chris m have said thanks

#5 Firefighter912 OFFLINE  

Firefighter912
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72788
  • 12 Thanks
  • 123 posts
  • Location: GA

Posted October 05, 2015 - 03:14 PM

The deck is lever operated. The pulleys are a little rusty. This belt was to wide at first but eventually burnt down to fit in pulleys.

this is a new carb. Just got the mower back from mower shop. They adjusted it supposedly cause I couldn't get it running good. It runs decent now.

Spark plug is carboned (black) as well.

Might get bolens belt he listed.

#6 Firefighter912 OFFLINE  

Firefighter912
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72788
  • 12 Thanks
  • 123 posts
  • Location: GA

Posted October 05, 2015 - 07:27 PM

Bolens I will order that belt tonight. Maybe that will solve my issue and won't burn up as easily.



#7 Firefighter912 OFFLINE  

Firefighter912
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72788
  • 12 Thanks
  • 123 posts
  • Location: GA

Posted October 05, 2015 - 07:27 PM

Also do yall have any blades for these mowers?



#8 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,680 Thanks
  • 17,200 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted October 05, 2015 - 08:13 PM

I'll have to check the warehouses, the blades for these 38'' decks were available till 2014 and now they are NLA :(

 

May find a set lingering around a warehouse, will have to let you know tomorrow.



#9 Firefighter912 OFFLINE  

Firefighter912
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72788
  • 12 Thanks
  • 123 posts
  • Location: GA

Posted October 05, 2015 - 10:03 PM

Ok let me know. I'l wait on the belt until you find out. Thanks



#10 EricFromPa OFFLINE  

EricFromPa

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2135
  • 2,295 Thanks
  • 2,331 posts
  • Location: Bedford County Pa.

Posted October 06, 2015 - 04:39 AM

How much tension is on the belt?

 

I had to replace the spring on my deck.Even though I had the correct belt,it would slip.The old spring had rust on it and was getting pretty weak.It mowed good for a while then it started to slip.The more I mowed with it the slower I had to go to keep the belt from slipping.

 

Replaced the spring with a new one and it mows good in 2nd gear with no slipping in fairly high grass.It will mow in 3rd but pulls the engine down quite a bit.3rd is to fast for mowing anyway.


  • Bolens 1000, Alc, chris m and 1 other said thanks

#11 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,449 Thanks
  • 6,616 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted October 06, 2015 - 05:02 AM

That's a good thing to check Eric , hate to see someone put on a new belt and maybe damage it in heavy mowing .
  • Bolens 1000 and Firefighter912 have said thanks

#12 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,680 Thanks
  • 17,200 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted October 06, 2015 - 04:00 PM

Looks like those blades are NLA :(


  • Firefighter912 said thank you

#13 Firefighter912 OFFLINE  

Firefighter912
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72788
  • 12 Thanks
  • 123 posts
  • Location: GA

Posted October 06, 2015 - 05:12 PM

Eric, where can I get springs from? Ok Bolens..I will order belt from you tonight. Thanks for looking. Guess I'll keep sharpeninig this one. How hard is it to update the deck to use a new mower blade system?



#14 EricFromPa OFFLINE  

EricFromPa

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2135
  • 2,295 Thanks
  • 2,331 posts
  • Location: Bedford County Pa.

Posted October 06, 2015 - 06:59 PM

Tractor supply has springs.

 

I took an old Fish scale and hooked it to the spring that was on it and it gave me a number in LBS.Went to TSC and took my fish scale with me.The spring I got had 8-10 lbs more pull to it and has a galvanized coating.

 

It was $8 though.Don't know why but the small parts like springs and bolts are pretty expensive at TSC.Pretty much all the smaller parts are near double the price NAPA would sell them for.

 

My old antique Fish scale goes up to 50 lbs.Got it in a big banana box full of old fishing stuff at an auction years ago for $3.I've used it many times for measuring spring pull. 

 

It looks like this one.

 

Fishing_Scale__PK.jpg

 

 

Wish it was 100-150 lbs scale but it works good for light springs.


  • Alc, KennyP and Firefighter912 have said thanks

#15 EricFromPa OFFLINE  

EricFromPa

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2135
  • 2,295 Thanks
  • 2,331 posts
  • Location: Bedford County Pa.

Posted October 06, 2015 - 07:18 PM

BTW your tractor sounds like it still needs work done to the carb.

 

Don't run it like that.She's running really lean.It will throw the connecting rod if you use it like that.Tecumseh engines don't last long if there running Hot and lean.

 

It either has a non serviceable venturi or the idle circuit is still plugged up with old gas and gunk.Wish you was closer I could get her running perfect.It takes a couple hours to hand clean them.Or strip it down and boil it in a pot of water.Boiling them works 1/2 the time.I would rather hand clean a carb.Couple cans of carb cleaner and a torch tip cleaner kit and a couple hours and it will be better than new.


  • Alc said thank you




Top