Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Putting Maggie to work


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Bwinkle7 OFFLINE  

Bwinkle7
  • Member
  • Member No: 74733
  • 29 Thanks
  • 17 posts
  • Location: Ashville,Pa,

Posted September 27, 2015 - 04:52 AM

Morning,,,yeah I know it's 0530, couldn't sleep AGAIN. Anyway here are a couple pics of my 73 at work. That is my way of moving railroad ties without much effort. ??? Seems like I need to choke each time I start the engine. Is that normal? Also if I hold the lever of the hyd control all the way up, the hydraulics don't do anything, up or down, is that normal? GM

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20150926_092658.jpg
  • 20150926_092723.jpg

  • Alc, KennyP, Traill95 and 4 others have said thanks

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,405 Thanks
  • 39,661 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted September 27, 2015 - 05:29 AM

Neat tie mover! Sounds like you have a float position in that valve.


  • boyscout862 and Bwinkle7 have said thanks

#3 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,447 Thanks
  • 6,611 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted September 27, 2015 - 05:32 AM

Nice to you using your tractor for some heavy pulling ! As far as the hydraulics not sure if I'm following you but if the problem happens only when the spool on the valve is being pulled out , making it go further in the valve sealing off the posts . There might be a loose screw under the end cap on the oppsite end of the handle . There should be at least one spring that the screw in holding in place . Hope this makes sense .

#4 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,447 Thanks
  • 6,611 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted September 27, 2015 - 05:35 AM

What Kenny mentioned would be as the spool is being pushed in . It should lock in that position too. After thinking its more likely that , less common to happen what I posted.

Edited by Alc, September 27, 2015 - 05:43 AM.

  • KennyP said thank you

#5 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,266 Thanks
  • 28,606 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted September 27, 2015 - 07:03 AM

Nice use of the GT and the old noodle with that mover.
It's been my experience that some engines are just like some people... They beg to be choked.
  • KennyP, boyscout862 and TomLGT195 have said thanks

#6 MNGB OFFLINE  

MNGB
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 62466
  • 993 Thanks
  • 824 posts
  • Location: Minnesota

Posted September 27, 2015 - 07:43 AM

Its pretty normal to use choke at startup and I agtree your mov ing the control valve into the float position.



#7 Bwinkle7 OFFLINE  

Bwinkle7
  • Member
  • Member No: 74733
  • 29 Thanks
  • 17 posts
  • Location: Ashville,Pa,

Posted September 29, 2015 - 05:07 AM

MH81,,,I needed a way to move those ties by myself. Ratchet straps are a very nice invention. As for your second statement, I must agree




Top