• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 backyardtinker OFFLINE  

backyardtinker
  • Member No: 73578
  • 249 Thanks
  • 182 posts

Posted September 25, 2015 - 05:11 AM

Well, since I'm still fairly new to the hobby, and I have yet to find a topic that has explained this I figured I would ask the question. Where is the dividing line between a lawn tractor and a garden tractor? I have wondered this from the beginning. Is there some sort of definitive cut off point? Do lawn tractors only go up to a certain HP level or is it in the ability to attach implements to a machine that designates it as a GT? Tire size/ Perhaps a combination of these things. Maybe it's like the old saying by the famous televangelist that said (sic) "you can't define (a garden tractor), but you know it when yo see it......". Maybe I will finally get the answer to the $64 question. :D

#2 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6172
  • 3,521 Thanks
  • 3,914 posts

Posted September 25, 2015 - 05:23 AM

A GT has a heavier frame. Can easily pull ground working attachments. A LT is a light weight riding mower.
  • backyardtinker said thank you

#3 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,750 Thanks
  • 7,522 posts

Posted September 25, 2015 - 05:43 AM

Above is true. I also add that a GT is more versatile and stronger. More attachments are made for it. A good GT has a castiron transmission and horizonal shaft engine. The rear wheels bolt on rather than slide on to the axle. LTs are good for mowing and pulling a light trailer. My Bolens can pull a regular trailer that will also carry it on the road.

Of couse there are some that are in between but there aren't many of them. They were usually called Yard Tractors. I have an AC 916T which is a YT. It is as big as an AC GT but the engine is verticle and the rear wheels slide onto the axles. Visit www.simpletractors.com  to see information on Simplicity LTs and GTs. Good Luck, Rick