Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

HP Win7 Machine problems

phenom windows 7 bfh

  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted September 23, 2015 - 09:26 PM

About a year someone gave me an older HP machine that was shipped with Vista and then upgraded to Win7.  The owner upgraded and said take the tower, wipe the drive, and have fun.  I ran it for 6 months or more with Ubuntu then reinstalled Win7 and sold it to a friend.  He used it for three months without a problem and then all of the sudden it started freezing up, crashing, black screening, and I even got a BSOD a couple of times.  Tested the memory (4 Gb) and HD (500gb WD Black) and all is good with those parts.  It has an upgraded power supply (Antec Neo-Eco Green 430) too.  All fans are working as expected (low and high speed work depending on load.  It is running the on-board nVidia 430 video too.  AMD Phenom 9150e processor IIRC.

I am totally stumped on this one.  Here is what I have ruled out so far but might be missing something:

- RAM tests good (let run for 12 hours of MemTest thru bios)

- HD checks ok using SMART info

- case is clean and all fans work as expected

 

Do you have any suggestions for this one????

 

Thanks all!



#2 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,747 Thanks
  • 1,398 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted September 23, 2015 - 11:07 PM

malware, spyware, anti-virus, etc

what kind of protection was put on the PC and used to check for malware, etc

 

I would wipe the drive and re-install win 7 or better in install Linus on it. And forget about all the problems with widows


  • WNYTractorTinkerer and Auburn David have said thanks

#3 EricFromPa ONLINE  

EricFromPa

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2135
  • 2,300 Thanks
  • 2,334 posts
  • Location: Bedford County Pa.

Posted September 24, 2015 - 02:50 AM

Run a virus scan 1st off.Malwarebytes works good and it's free. https://www.malwarebytes.org/

 

 

HP mobos are prone to going bad after 5-7 years.Some will last 10 years+ but most don't.Either the Capacitors near the Voltage Regulator near the CPU or the northbridge chip burns up.The video is on the northbridge chip on most older motherboards and they are prone to fatigue and will overheat and fail.

 

It only takes 1 leaking Cap to cause problems bsod. 

 

 

Most Newer high quality motherboards use solid state Capacitors that do not break down over time.

 

Could just be that the PC got bumped and the CPU may need to be re-seated and new thermal compound.That will cause all sorts of BSOD.

 

 

When I get a PC in to work on the 1st thing that I do is take everything out and clean it with Compressed air.Then I re-seat the memory,CPU and any add-on cards then put some good thermal compound on the cpu cooler.

 

 

Had a few that had intermittent CPU fan failure.The yellow wire coming out of the fan is for the CPU fan speed sensor.If if stops sending fan speed info to the motherboard it will shut down the PC.

 

You can monitor fan speed and voltages in Bios on most desktop motherboards.If you see the fan speed drop to Zero in Bios that will be the problem.If you see unstable voltage spikes and drops either your VRM on the motherboard or Power supply is going out. 


  • NUTNDUN, Lmiller3358, Trav1s and 3 others have said thanks

#4 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted September 24, 2015 - 04:21 AM

I also wouldn't say the hard drive is good just because it passes the smart test. Do you have another hard drive you could test it with? Eric is right about the capacitors on older mother boards.


  • Lmiller3358 and Trav1s have said thanks

#5 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted September 24, 2015 - 08:39 AM

I have already checked for virus/malware and it checked ok.  Might need to check again.  I have a suspicion that this is related to the Win10 stuff but cannot confirm that.  As for the hardware thoughts, thanks for the ideas.  I do have another HD to swap in if the problem continues.  Probably will just clone the current install to make my life easier.  The caps on the mobo are a great thing to watch for.  I will look then next time I get my hands on it.  

 

If it were my choice, I would put Mint on it and let him go but that is not an option...


  • Lmiller3358 said thank you

#6 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,706 Thanks
  • 8,562 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted September 24, 2015 - 09:36 AM

Travis another thing you may want to check is the connection to the HDD and Mobo.  I've got a computer that every once in a while will do crazy things like you are experiencing and after messing with it for quite a while I discovered if I reseat the HDD cable everything is cool.  I've replaced the cable and it still has issues so the problem is with the HDD but I'm just to lazy to change it out.  Once I reseat it, it will run for months on end.  One of these days I'll change it out.

 

Another suggestion is run it off a disc or USB drive and see if you get the same problem.  Have you removed the Updates in the articles about Windows 10 and turned off auto update? 


  • Lmiller3358 said thank you

#7 crittersf1 ONLINE  

crittersf1

    GT Lunatic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 26142
  • 4,167 Thanks
  • 5,760 posts
  • Location: Newport, N.C.

Posted September 24, 2015 - 10:28 AM

ALL GREEK to me!!!


  • Lmiller3358 and WNYTractorTinkerer have said thanks

#8 Lmiller3358 OFFLINE  

Lmiller3358

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5109
  • 1,333 Thanks
  • 1,321 posts
  • Location: Massachusetts

Posted September 24, 2015 - 03:48 PM

ALL GREEK to me!!!

Honestly I think the float is too high myself ! And good luck with it 


  • MH81, EricFromPa, KennyP and 2 others have said thanks

#9 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted September 24, 2015 - 03:52 PM

Honestly I think the float is too high myself ! And good luck with it 

 

Dude!!!! How did I not think of that?!?!


  • MH81, lyall and HDWildBill have said thanks

#10 crittersf1 ONLINE  

crittersf1

    GT Lunatic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 26142
  • 4,167 Thanks
  • 5,760 posts
  • Location: Newport, N.C.

Posted September 24, 2015 - 04:27 PM

Clean the points!!!


  • MH81, EricFromPa, KennyP and 1 other said thanks

#11 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted September 25, 2015 - 01:36 PM

The possession continues.  I will try a HD swap but put my money on something on the MOBO.  Found a good Gigabyte on eBay that will likely get swapped in.  


Edited by Trav1s, September 25, 2015 - 01:50 PM.


#12 WNYTractorTinkerer ONLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,315 Thanks
  • 4,663 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted September 25, 2015 - 01:45 PM

If it was the MB the BSOD would be on after every reboot.  My guess would be HD is hanging up or software as has been suggested..  I've had to punt and reload windows a few times since the wife wanders unknowingly to her in places that make the OS corrupt..


  • Trav1s and HDWildBill have said thanks

#13 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,706 Thanks
  • 8,562 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted September 26, 2015 - 06:58 AM

Have you tired just running off a USB drive or DVD?  If you still get the issue it probably is the MOBO. 



#14 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted September 27, 2015 - 11:58 AM

Have you tired just running off a USB drive or DVD?  If you still get the issue it probably is the MOBO. 

Not yet



#15 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted October 22, 2015 - 08:43 PM

The cranky beast is sitting in the basement and there is a different motherboard going into it tomorrow.  i am using the Phenom quad core and the ram from the old machine and hope that M$ will allow me to xfer the Win7 license to the replacement board.


  • HDWildBill said thank you





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: phenom, windows 7, bfh

Top