Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Running on choke


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Banjo123 OFFLINE  

Banjo123
  • Member
  • Member No: 74514
  • 17 Thanks
  • 72 posts
  • Location: Tn

Posted September 21, 2015 - 06:29 PM

so I have my carb adjusted pretty good to where when I throttle up slowly from idle there is no hesitation, but if I turn the choke just barely on I can go from idle to full throttle as fast as I want and there is no hesitation. If I do this with no choke it will fall flat on its face. I've tried adjusting this out but I've had no luck. Any ideas?

#2 MNGB ONLINE  

MNGB
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 62466
  • 993 Thanks
  • 824 posts
  • Location: Minnesota

Posted September 21, 2015 - 06:42 PM

The idle jet needs to be adjusted out (to enrichen) the idle circuit more gas that's what your doing when you pull the choke on if you go to rich you'll see black smoke from the exhaust when you throttle up., What engine and carb?


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#3 Banjo123 OFFLINE  

Banjo123
  • Member
  • Member No: 74514
  • 17 Thanks
  • 72 posts
  • Location: Tn

Posted September 22, 2015 - 08:15 AM

It's a 1965 briggs 10 hp with a flow jet carb. It doesn't seem to affect it when I turn the idle screw out..

#4 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,698 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted September 22, 2015 - 09:33 AM

I could be either your idle circuit in the carb is blocked or you may have an air leak.  Take some Carb cleaner and with the engine running spray the cleaner around the carb flanges and the intake manifold.  If the engine changes there is a leak there.  If you don't find a leak then there is a very good chance the idle circuit is partially blocked.



#5 Banjo123 OFFLINE  

Banjo123
  • Member
  • Member No: 74514
  • 17 Thanks
  • 72 posts
  • Location: Tn

Posted September 22, 2015 - 10:20 AM

Ok. So would it be a good idea and safe assumption to go ahead and order a carb rebuild kit?

#6 WNYTractorTinkerer OFFLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,304 Thanks
  • 4,657 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted September 22, 2015 - 11:25 AM

Ok. So would it be a good idea and safe assumption to go ahead and order a carb rebuild kit?

In a word->  Yes.  

 

The reason it falls on it's face is that the plate opens and a restriction of fuel in the idle circuit or a low fuel level in the bowl causes the addition of fuel supplied with the air to the engine to drop.  If the air and fuel aren't mixed properly all bets are off..  Today's engines are designed to run on the lean side in the first place due to the tree huggers and ozone police so they are fouled up with the slightest bit of blockage..  

 

Install a kit with a thorough clean-out of the idle jet circuit..  Good luck!


  • Bolens 1000 and HDWildBill have said thanks

#7 MNGB ONLINE  

MNGB
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 62466
  • 993 Thanks
  • 824 posts
  • Location: Minnesota

Posted September 22, 2015 - 12:09 PM

This is a 1960's engine so it doesn't run lean, before you buy an OH kit clean the carb good it very possible a partially clog passage way in the idle circuit, or as posted could be an air leak.

here's a good link to the carb

http://outdoorpoweri...ece_flo-jet.asp



#8 Banjo123 OFFLINE  

Banjo123
  • Member
  • Member No: 74514
  • 17 Thanks
  • 72 posts
  • Location: Tn

Posted September 22, 2015 - 02:26 PM

Ok. Thanks guys. I hear these carbs are pretty complicated and hard to make not leak. Is that accurate?

#9 Banjo123 OFFLINE  

Banjo123
  • Member
  • Member No: 74514
  • 17 Thanks
  • 72 posts
  • Location: Tn

Posted September 22, 2015 - 02:28 PM

Ok. Thanks guys. I'll try it. I hear they're a nightmare to make them not leak

#10 MNGB ONLINE  

MNGB
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 62466
  • 993 Thanks
  • 824 posts
  • Location: Minnesota

Posted September 22, 2015 - 03:13 PM

Hi they are not complicated but can leak at the  emulsion tube, read the link provided before trying to dissemble the carb the  emulsion tube must be removed before splitting the 2 halves when removing the emulsion tube make sure you have a good fitting screwdriver not so big it touches the threads but big enough so as to not damage the screw slot.

I would first remove the idle jet and using the straw with carb cleaner spray into the jet screw hole cleaner should come out in the throttle pate area of the carb.



#11 Dayton_King ONLINE  

Dayton_King
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68926
  • 619 Thanks
  • 692 posts
  • Location: Atlanta Georgia

Posted September 22, 2015 - 06:44 PM

That's a brand new carb kit in that. Not waste your money. I have maybe 3 hrs on it when I sold it to you. It's sat, I would clean it but no need for a carb kit

#12 Banjo123 OFFLINE  

Banjo123
  • Member
  • Member No: 74514
  • 17 Thanks
  • 72 posts
  • Location: Tn

Posted September 23, 2015 - 02:01 AM

Ok great. Thanks guys.

#13 Banjo123 OFFLINE  

Banjo123
  • Member
  • Member No: 74514
  • 17 Thanks
  • 72 posts
  • Location: Tn

Posted September 24, 2015 - 03:41 PM

Where's the throttle plate?

#14 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,397 Thanks
  • 39,659 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted September 24, 2015 - 05:33 PM

Where's the throttle plate?

In the carb!



#15 MNGB ONLINE  

MNGB
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 62466
  • 993 Thanks
  • 824 posts
  • Location: Minnesota

Posted September 24, 2015 - 06:13 PM

Go to the link I provided look at picture #6 that's the top of the carb what you see in the center of the bore is the throttle plate it is connected to the gov arm via a rod.






Top