Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

John Deere 214 no spark continues.


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 coinman66 OFFLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted September 19, 2015 - 05:58 PM

New wiring harness, ignition switch, coil,condenser, points, solenoid and spark plug. Tractor was in a brief flash fire and put out with water, melted hood off and melted battery. After I put new items on that i stated, spark plug sparked a few times and actually almost started engine. Now back to no spark at plug. Would engine turn over with a bad circuit breaker? Would bad circuit breaker cause a no spark at plug? Seem to have points set but a can try that again. Stumped?

Edited by coinman66, September 19, 2015 - 06:04 PM.


#2 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted September 19, 2015 - 07:41 PM

Got another condensor to swap? All of your connections tight?

#3 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 6,110 Thanks
  • 3,202 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted September 19, 2015 - 07:46 PM

Are the points closing. If not, it won't start. Check the plunger that pushes the points open and closed. It could be stuck or worn. I set the points on my JD 140 to spec. And would not start. Reset them at .015 and fired fight up and words great. They were at .008. Noel.

Edited by propane1, September 19, 2015 - 07:48 PM.

  • Trav1s said thank you

#4 coinman66 OFFLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted September 20, 2015 - 11:06 AM

Are the points closing. If not, it won't start. Check the plunger that pushes the points open and closed. It could be stuck or worn. I set the points on my JD 140 to spec. And would not start. Reset them at .015 and fired fight up and words great. They were at .008. Noel.


Yes, I replaced plunger also. Can I just rotate engine by hand until points open at their widest and get ready to close and then gap them? Does it have to be on compression stroke?
  • propane1 said thank you

#5 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,695 Thanks
  • 17,206 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted September 20, 2015 - 11:10 AM

Is this a K series kohler?

 

Did you replace the rubber grommet on the points box? If not your breaker box may be grounding out the points, take the points cover off and see if you get spark


  • Trav1s said thank you

#6 coinman66 OFFLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted September 20, 2015 - 12:10 PM

Is this a K series kohler?

Did you replace the rubber grommet on the points box? If not your breaker box may be grounding out the points, take the points cover off and see if you get spark

Yah the front cover is off. I see an occasional spark at the plug, which makes me think points aren't gapped right? And yes it's a K321

Edited by coinman66, September 20, 2015 - 12:10 PM.


#7 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted September 20, 2015 - 12:26 PM

I always gap the points by rotating it until the points are open and adjusting them to .020"

 

It could also be grounding out like Bolens 1000 said


  • propane1 said thank you

#8 coinman66 OFFLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted September 20, 2015 - 03:20 PM

I always gap the points by rotating it until the points are open and adjusting them to .020"

It could also be grounding out like Bolens 1000 said


The points cover is off

#9 coinman66 OFFLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted September 20, 2015 - 03:20 PM

I always gap the points by rotating it until the points are open and adjusting them to .020"

It could also be grounding out like Bolens 1000 said


The points cover is off

#10 coinman66 OFFLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted September 20, 2015 - 03:20 PM

I always gap the points by rotating it until the points are open and adjusting them to .020"

It could also be grounding out like Bolens 1000 said


The points cover is off.

#11 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 6,110 Thanks
  • 3,202 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted September 20, 2015 - 06:26 PM

Could be the ignition switch. It may not be sending power in the start position. Turn the key to the run position and put direct power the the starter to turn it over. You are then bypassing the start circuit. See if you have spark then. Also change the spark plug again with a knowin good plug. And I know you changed the plug, but just try that please. Noel

Edited by propane1, September 20, 2015 - 06:27 PM.

  • Trav1s said thank you

#12 coinman66 OFFLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted September 21, 2015 - 04:56 PM

Got it running! Regapped plug and points and seems to be ok now. May need a new carb now? Thanks all!
  • propane1 said thank you

#13 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted September 21, 2015 - 05:30 PM

Which one does it have?  Walbros are a crapshoot in my experience.  You can go with a Carter 26 or Carter 30 on it.



#14 coinman66 OFFLINE  

coinman66
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72594
  • 163 Thanks
  • 273 posts
  • Location: Rossville, Illinois

Posted September 21, 2015 - 07:04 PM

Which one does it have? Walbros are a crapshoot in my experience. You can go with a Carter 26 or Carter 30 on it.


Ok thanks for the info. Think it's a Carter #26.
  • Trav1s said thank you

#15 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted September 21, 2015 - 09:39 PM

Ok thanks for the info. Think it's a Carter #26.

 

A simple cleaning and rebuild and you will be set as long as there is not too much wear on the throttle shaft.


  • coinman66 said thank you




Top