Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

B10 wont stay running


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 DanP OFFLINE  

DanP

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6989
  • 276 Thanks
  • 467 posts
  • Location: Mt Pleasant, Iowa

Posted September 18, 2015 - 12:24 PM

I have a restored 10 HP Briggs in my B10. I did this a couple years ago and rebuilt the carb. It starts fine but after it runs for 15-20 minutes it starts to die, the only way it will stay running is if you put the choke all the way on and then that only works for awhile. Any ideas?



#2 CRFarnsworth OFFLINE  

CRFarnsworth

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6275
  • 3,634 Thanks
  • 1,732 posts
  • Location: Rossville Illinois

Posted September 18, 2015 - 12:39 PM

Is the gas cap venting?    Next time take the cap loose and see if it happens again.


  • DanP, Talntedmrgreen and boyscout862 have said thanks

#3 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,751 Thanks
  • 7,523 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted September 18, 2015 - 12:49 PM

The gas cap is the easiest to check. If that isn't it, you may have a clogged filter(in the tank) or a restricted fuel line. Unfortunately those gas caps through the hood invited several problems. Good Luck, Rick


  • CRFarnsworth and DanP have said thanks

#4 petrj6 ONLINE  

petrj6
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 53717
  • 3,807 Thanks
  • 2,219 posts
  • Location: petersbrgh ny

Posted September 18, 2015 - 01:38 PM

Does the choke make a difference? I mean does choking it make it run longer or does it stay running the same either way? Are you running hi rpms or at an idle? If at hi rpms and it dies like that I would say your float is out of adjustment, if you are idling I would look at the coil and condenser, they may be getting hot and quitting
Pete
  • CRFarnsworth and DanP have said thanks

#5 Talntedmrgreen OFFLINE  

Talntedmrgreen

    Simplicity Enthusiast

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8186
  • 3,059 Thanks
  • 2,174 posts
  • Location: Dorr, MI

Posted September 18, 2015 - 02:07 PM

Float adjustment would give these symptoms regardless of operating temp.  In addition to the suggestions above, when it begins running like junk, spray some starting fluid around the gaskets between the carb & intake, then intake and block.  Easy to pickup a vacuum leak here when warm.  Also, is your breather clean?


  • CRFarnsworth and DanP have said thanks

#6 chieffan OFFLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 6,141 Thanks
  • 4,490 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted September 18, 2015 - 03:15 PM

Definitely check that gas cap on the tank.  I had a 10hp Wisconsin in a Bolens 1053 that did the same exact thing.  It was the gas cap vent.  The cap had a fiber type liner for a seal.  When it go wet with gas it expanded and shut off the air supply to the tank.  Point of a sharp pocket knife blade to make the fiber hole larger and hasn't bothered since.  Good luck.


  • CRFarnsworth and DanP have said thanks

#7 karl OFFLINE  

karl
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 38218
  • 1,032 Thanks
  • 768 posts

Posted September 18, 2015 - 04:20 PM

IMG_2061.JPG I just went through the same issue you are having. I have a simplicity vc walkbehind with a brigggs model 19. the engine had been gone through as far as spark and no vent issues. but same issues as you. I put a carb kit in it. it runs nice now. use an oem kit.

Edited by karl, September 18, 2015 - 04:26 PM.

  • DanP said thank you

#8 DanP OFFLINE  

DanP

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6989
  • 276 Thanks
  • 467 posts
  • Location: Mt Pleasant, Iowa

Posted August 08, 2016 - 09:11 AM

I played with this over the weekend. Since I put a new external coil on it and mounted it on top of the head I thought maybe the coil was getting hot. I ran it and watched it for a while and sure enough about 20 minutes it started to die. I checked the spark with a neon tester and it had spark right up until it died. The card has been rebuilt and the gas cap check for venting and it works fine. I could put a piece of clear tube in the gas line to see if it stops getting fuel but I don't know how that can happen. Any ideas?



#9 jabelman OFFLINE  

jabelman
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 38843
  • 1,472 Thanks
  • 1,133 posts
  • Location: nj

Posted August 08, 2016 - 04:55 PM

I had similar issue on kohler, and changed out condenser, rebuilt carb, plug, chk points coil and so on. it turned out to be a connection. I since rewired the whole machine with new wires and problem went away
  • DanP said thank you

#10 DanP OFFLINE  

DanP

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6989
  • 276 Thanks
  • 467 posts
  • Location: Mt Pleasant, Iowa

Posted August 09, 2016 - 08:39 AM

I re wired it when I restored it a couple years ago. It has new coil and condenser on it. Like I said I checked the spark as it was dieing and it had spark right up until it died.



#11 tater195 OFFLINE  

tater195

    I dont deny your history..... dont deny mine

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 62468
  • 1,306 Thanks
  • 933 posts

Posted August 09, 2016 - 09:46 AM

Did you switch to a 12v coil or do you still have a ballast resistor?



#12 DanP OFFLINE  

DanP

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6989
  • 276 Thanks
  • 467 posts
  • Location: Mt Pleasant, Iowa

Posted August 09, 2016 - 10:34 AM

I have a 12 volt coil and resistor both are new.



#13 tater195 OFFLINE  

tater195

    I dont deny your history..... dont deny mine

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 62468
  • 1,306 Thanks
  • 933 posts

Posted August 09, 2016 - 10:49 AM

You shouldnt need the resistor if the primary is rated for 12v



#14 DanP OFFLINE  

DanP

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6989
  • 276 Thanks
  • 467 posts
  • Location: Mt Pleasant, Iowa

Posted August 09, 2016 - 12:09 PM

I thought you had to either use a coil with a resistor in it or use an external resistor to knock the voltage down.



#15 tater195 OFFLINE  

tater195

    I dont deny your history..... dont deny mine

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 62468
  • 1,306 Thanks
  • 933 posts

Posted August 09, 2016 - 12:47 PM

The 12v coil should handle full power, resistors are sometimes added to keep from burning out the points.

Brian Millers page is confusing and contradicting. He says you dont need one then goes on to say you can add one, but not more than 1.5 ohms depending on the resistance of the coil. Then he adds a pic that says you dont need one for a 12v coil.

 

ign1ani.gif


  • TomLGT195 said thank you




Top