Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

ignition switch


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 efedak OFFLINE  

efedak
  • Member
  • Member No: 57049
  • 1 Thanks
  • 11 posts
  • Location: East Palestine, Ohio

Posted September 10, 2015 - 09:46 AM

hi, looking for some help locating an ignition switch for a 74-75 bolens g10. it is a 5 prong switch, Tecumseh engine. do I actually need a bolens switch or will any 5 prong work? any help would be great.



#2 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,803 Thanks
  • 7,544 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted September 10, 2015 - 10:48 AM

Beware there are generally two types of switches: magneto and coil. If you use a coil type switch with a Tecumseh magneto it will destroy the solid state ignition which is very expensive to repair or replace. There are generic switches but you are best off going with one of our knowledgeable sponsors so that you get the right one and don't do damage( a $20 switch vs $200 ignition module). Post some pics to be sure that things are acurately identified. Good Luck, Rick


  • efedak said thank you

#3 blackjackjakexxix ONLINE  

blackjackjakexxix

    Blackjackjakexxix

  • Senior Member
  • Sponsor
  • Member No: 2194
  • 2,356 Thanks
  • 1,763 posts
  • Location: Pulaski,Pa 16143

Posted September 10, 2015 - 11:15 AM

Have to agree with boyscout862,the wrong switch will cause you big troubles
  • boyscout862 and efedak have said thanks

#4 TAHOE ONLINE  

TAHOE
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 24522
  • 6,503 Thanks
  • 4,955 posts
  • Location: "Hamiltucky" Ohio

Posted September 10, 2015 - 11:18 AM

Here is the back of the switch on my Sears that uses Tecumseh with solid state ignition. As boyscout stated, you have to make sure you have one with the magneto terminal in right spot or you will fry the module.

Surprisingly, I found the exact switch at Advance auto for $13.99

 

st16 SWITCH2.JPG


  • sacsr, boyscout862, efedak and 1 other said thanks

#5 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted September 10, 2015 - 11:33 AM

The one used is a special switch..... No alternatives I know of, If we can get enough people loking for them they can be ordered but I need a 300pc minimum for the factory to sell me any of these........

 

If I win the lottery I'll bring them back :D


  • boyscout862, efedak and Paulgo have said thanks

#6 chieffan ONLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 6,166 Thanks
  • 4,508 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted September 10, 2015 - 12:41 PM

You might try opening your switch up - VERY CAREFULLY - and repair it.  Then crimp it back together again.  Some you can and some it won't work on.


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#7 efedak OFFLINE  

efedak
  • Member
  • Member No: 57049
  • 1 Thanks
  • 11 posts
  • Location: East Palestine, Ohio

Posted September 10, 2015 - 04:56 PM

thanx guys, I have the solid state ignition and it would be pretty hard to take it apart any more than it already is... know what I mean.



#8 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,803 Thanks
  • 7,544 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted September 10, 2015 - 04:58 PM

You might try opening your switch up - VERY CAREFULLY - and repair it.  Then crimp it back together again.  Some you can and some it won't work on.

That is an old Swamp Yankee trick. Good Luck, Rick






Top