42 replies to this topic

#1 TomLGT195 ONLINE  

TomLGT195
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 2,802 Thanks
  • 2,203 posts

Posted September 04, 2015 - 06:41 PM

This past year has been tough on me, the job requirements have been pushing my health, both physically and mentally. I have decided to give my notice as a field/ job site foreman. I told them I would finish running the 2 jobs I have started then wish to just go back to being an installer if they choose to keep me. It was a tough decision, but my health and family life have been suffering , so I did what i need to for the well being of both.

A little background. I am a union carpenter specializing in high end commercial trim. I mostly do large corporate headquarters, hospitals , college and private schools.  I have worked for this company for 15 years and have been running work for the last 7 years. The pace of construction has drastically changed and the timeframes have shortened dramatically. The result has put the trim guy( me) on the job site weeks later than on the schedule without a deadline/ due date change. IE; 3-4 weeks for 8-10 weeks worth of work. This schedule forces us to work overtime and 6-7 days a week. In the past there was breaks between jobs to catch your breath, but lately , it's one after the other. And most recently, it's been overlapping jobs with crazy demanding deadlines. I have had as many as 5 jobs at the same time with approximately 45miles between them in 2 different states, with 15-25 guys depending on status of jobs.