Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

$^%&! MYKEY


  • Please log in to reply
126 replies to this topic

#61 UncleWillie ONLINE  

UncleWillie

    wabbit wangler

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10399
  • 12,758 Thanks
  • 7,701 posts
  • Location: Gaston county, NC

Posted October 13, 2015 - 12:28 PM

I would be launching it through the front window of the showroom.

 

 

You should have left the radio on I wanted to hear what he said about open carry.


Edited by UncleWillie, October 13, 2015 - 12:29 PM.

  • larrybl and dodge trucker have said thanks

#62 toppop52 ONLINE  

toppop52
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54420
  • 3,502 Thanks
  • 3,386 posts
  • Location: Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland

Posted October 13, 2015 - 09:12 PM

We have seen this problem on Ford Escape/ Mazda Tribute as well. It often mimics a bad cam or crank position sensor or even a bad ECM. Rarely though, do any of those fix the problem. It will almost always start with a short wait or repeated attempts. I believe it is in the communication between the computers, modules, data buss terminal, etc... Chrysler has a similar issue that goes back to he TIPM, (Toatally Intergrated Power Module). Chryslers high tech fix is to bypass the system using an old fashioned relay and added wire.
  • larrybl, MH81, Alc and 2 others have said thanks

#63 toppop52 ONLINE  

toppop52
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54420
  • 3,502 Thanks
  • 3,386 posts
  • Location: Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland

Posted October 13, 2015 - 09:24 PM

I believe your no start can be iced as well by wiring relay in to trigger the starter, bypassing the data buss.
  • larrybl, Bruce Dorsi and wvbuzzmaster have said thanks

#64 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,953 Thanks
  • 3,326 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted October 13, 2015 - 09:26 PM

I found that the Focus has three separate computers, and dozen or so control modules, so jumping the solenoid is not an option. For all this crap and the experiment of a transmission it reports gas mileage as 34.9 mpg for the short time I have been able to drive it. My 95 Camry constantly gets 39 - 41mpg. I guess if they would dump all the electronics and stick a regular tranny (auto or standard) it would get 45 or better. And be more reliable.  


  • wvbuzzmaster said thank you

#65 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,953 Thanks
  • 3,326 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted October 13, 2015 - 09:30 PM

I believe your no start can be iced as well by wiring relay in to trigger the starter, bypassing the data buss.

Dealer 1 yr warranty prevents that.... But I wouldn't put it past them to do. Here... we fixed it. Turn the key on and press this BIG Sissy Pink button we glued to the dash.


  • wvbuzzmaster said thank you

#66 toppop52 ONLINE  

toppop52
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54420
  • 3,502 Thanks
  • 3,386 posts
  • Location: Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland

Posted October 13, 2015 - 09:34 PM

The 2011 Durango that Chrysler wired a relay into has 57 computers, modules, etc... Yours probably has about that many as well. I can't advise on the process, as I'm not looking at a diagram for your car, but I bet a good Ford guy could do it.

#67 toppop52 ONLINE  

toppop52
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54420
  • 3,502 Thanks
  • 3,386 posts
  • Location: Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland

Posted October 13, 2015 - 09:35 PM

Not saying you should, but they either need to fix or refund. Too much for too long!
  • larrybl and dodge trucker have said thanks

#68 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,953 Thanks
  • 3,326 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted October 13, 2015 - 10:01 PM

I have a case opened with Ford. Talked with a Lawyer, Lemon law doesn't apply to used cars, and I am stuck dealing with the Dealer warranty, I am keeping the case opened with Ford, and as soon as I have enough Social Media fodder (you tube) I may talk with the Lawyer again and see if the Dealership will take the car back. They did offer a buy back of $8,000, but I am in for $13,800   


  • wvbuzzmaster and dodge trucker have said thanks

#69 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,492 Thanks
  • 5,017 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted October 13, 2015 - 10:20 PM

They did offer a buy back of $8,000, but I am in for $13,800   

 

  That's probably all they would get for it at the auction which is not your problem. That vehicle should be destroyed though. Don't back down even an inch. If they are offering to buy it back they know they are in trouble. The unfortunate thing is they didn't make this vehicle and the manufacturer should stand behind their product. This is coming from someone who owns all Ford vehicles (including a 2003 Focus) and tractors. I tend to do a lot of research before purchasing a vehicle because they all make lemons. 
Stick to your guns and they will cave in to you. Have you notified the Attorney General?

  • Gtractor, MH81, oldedeeres and 1 other said thanks

#70 Alc OFFLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,455 Thanks
  • 6,623 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted October 14, 2015 - 05:52 AM

Larry was this car was bought at a Ford dealership used car lot and the Ford mechanics are doing the repairs ? Thats sad , a dealership should have access to everything to diagnosis your car . I could see a small repair shop that is using a generic scan tool that might not have all the features a dealer one might have. Guess the flip side , you still have to be pretty sharp to use it.
  • Cvans and dodge trucker have said thanks

#71 toppop52 ONLINE  

toppop52
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54420
  • 3,502 Thanks
  • 3,386 posts
  • Location: Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland

Posted October 14, 2015 - 06:38 AM

Chrysler had the issue for 10 years before admitting it and finding a fix, which basically takes away the high tech crap and goes back to old school hard wiring. If they destroy all the vehicles that have this problem there will be a shortage of cars! :D


  • Alc, Cvans and dodge trucker have said thanks

#72 DougT ONLINE  

DougT

    Dog Approved

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 584
  • 5,727 Thanks
  • 4,286 posts
  • Location: north central Ohio

Posted October 14, 2015 - 06:46 AM

One of the big problems in a dealership is the flat rate pay system. How much time do you spend on a problem car to get an hour's pay? Combine that with some problems that can only be tested when the problem happens and it can be a bear to fix.


  • Alc, Cvans and dodge trucker have said thanks

#73 toomanytoys84 ONLINE  

toomanytoys84

    Aaron

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 45129
  • 8,243 Thanks
  • 5,080 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted October 14, 2015 - 06:57 AM

8,000 is about trade in Value for a 2012 Focus SEL Sedan.  So that's where they are going with that.

 

I am waiting to see how this turns out.  I hope you get satisfaction and what you want.


  • Cvans and dodge trucker have said thanks

#74 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,953 Thanks
  • 3,326 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted October 14, 2015 - 05:47 PM

They just called me, They replaced the TCM and tested a bunch. We will see. I will pick it up (Again) some time tomorrow.


Edited by larrybl, October 14, 2015 - 05:48 PM.

  • Alc, EricR, dodge trucker and 1 other said thanks

#75 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,953 Thanks
  • 3,326 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted October 14, 2015 - 08:13 PM

They replaced the TCM and it seems the "no start" issue is fixed. I am wondering why it would take a full week to reprogram the TCM, and only 24 hours to replace it. Hmmmmm. Sounds like they may be being pressured.


  • olcowhand, MH81, Alc and 2 others have said thanks




Top