Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

Help with an Allis B12

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 David Brown OFFLINE  

David Brown

I said I work on them. I never said I fix them!

• Contributor
  • Member No: 8570
  • 4,219 Thanks
  • 2,316 posts

Posted August 23, 2015 - 07:37 PM

So I had a little time today and decided to get back to the Allis project I've been sitting on for a couple of years now.  When last we left Allis, she had no spark.  Well, things haven't changed.  She was cranking over fine but, alas, no spark.  Started cleaning connections (years of sitting under a porch roof), looked at the points, they look like new, still nothing.  I started to think the voltage reguator might be bad.  Then, in my smack the head and call yourself stupid moment, I knew exactly what the problem was (is).  It has to be the coil.  This is a briggs and the flywheel is probably so corroded that it's not setting to coil off.  Guess an engine removal is in order this week (I hope).  Now, a question, was there only one engine on these tractors?  I ask because, I have been all over this engine and have found no numbers what-so-ever.  Gonna need those numbers if I have to get parts.  I found part of a tag that looks like it had important numbers at one time but, of course, they are worn off.  Briggs usually stamps numbers into the shroud but I have yet to find any.  This thing has the hi/lo range so I really want to get it running and find a tiller for it.  I have a snow plow, deck and garden plow for it already.

Once I have it running (it will run), I'll get some new tires for it and set about painting it.  I just have to find paint that is a close match.  Any suggestions there?

Edited by David Brown, August 23, 2015 - 07:38 PM.

#2 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,459 Thanks
  • 6,628 posts

Posted August 23, 2015 - 08:26 PM