• Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 PetesPonies OFFLINE  

PetesPonies

• Member No: 7718
  • 32 Thanks
  • 40 posts

Posted August 16, 2015 - 01:21 PM

Some background. I'm a retired Tech teacher who does Mustang restoration work now. I actually did the restoration work while I was teaching. I did my thirty years and at 51, got out. I took my pension and moved south. I moved my restoration business as well. I built a house down here and a shop . .actually still finishing it all up at the time. But the light can be seen in the tunnel. I brought with me a JD LT160 and a couple old 60s tractors. I like old things, cars , trucks, tractors, furniture, etc. I have 37 acres, most is wooded. I had some land cleared 4 years before I moved here. In those 4 years, the pines had grown back, lots of bushes,e tc . . in the area where my house was to go. I cleared it with my LT160. I mean any tree about 6' or smaller, I pushed over and mowed the stump. I bought an extra deck and went at it. It was amazing and most thought no way a LT series would do it, well it was great. I then sold my LT160 and the extra deck I bought, for more money than I originally paid for them. How's that? So that's me and a little insight into who and how I function. I bought a JD 318. I wanted some hydraulics. I don't "love" the 318, but it is doing fine. However, I still think it is too small for what I really need. I probably have 4-5 acres that I mow. My house has maybe 1/2 acre that I am trying to get nice, but the rest is more "pasture" type mowing. I just don't want nature to take back my land. Actually, I'm the type that will mow a bit extra every time to gain some more land  :) I love the old Ford tractors, 8Ns, the 600s, 800s etc. I think a 5' bush hog would really be the piece of equipment I should be using. However, I do have a hill that must be mowed. It is the backside of a pond dam. It's about 15' vertical height, probably 20' that is mowed at an angle. I don't see me doin