11 replies to this topic

#1 Jimang22 OFFLINE  

Jimang22
  • Member No: 74001
  • 0 Thanks
  • 5 posts

Posted August 07, 2015 - 11:17 PM

Hello,
I am new to this and been looking online for weeks now to fix my tractor, mower.
To start tag on the back of the tractor says john deere 240 tractor , m00240b607713*
Motor is a Kawasaki, code fc420v-ds00 , e/no fc420v072314
I was mowing last week, I cut the field and pulled into my garage and it died and would not start back up, 2 days later I started it ran a little funny maybe a miss but it ran about 10 mins and died. I have only owned this tractor for 2 months and it ran great. No spark
I have done so far, removed ignition coil and cleaned, cleaned flywheel and the magnetic is good, checked all connections, both fuse are good, I could only find a Manuel for the motor. It said to check coil and silver small box on side of motor for ohms, I only have a digital meter with settings 2, 20, 200 but it broke the readings in half, if that can be done and it seemed in range, getting power to ignition key switch, the white wire from the ignition switch to that silver box and coil is grounded till the key is turned on .so I think that is correct. 1 fuse goes to ignition switch , 1 goes to black box under the dash, has good ground, 2 wires to charging under flywheel, it does have 3 relays but I haven't found a manual for the tractor itself yet and believe 1 is for seat safety switch, 1 cutting deck switch, other no clue yet.
I have been trying but new to the john deere tractor this tractor is great for me. Any Manuel's or trouble shooting that someone can point me to would be very helpful, I hate to buy every part and I like to know how everything works, thank you for your time

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

FORDoholic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,485 Thanks
  • 39,720 posts

Posted August 08, 2015 - 03:35 AM