• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

Make Stuff Up

• Contributor
  • Member No: 11851
  • 2,643 Thanks
  • 1,674 posts

Posted July 24, 2015 - 11:03 PM

Well, as you all know, I got new AG tires for my Kubota, the first time trying them out (mowing) I broke out the center of a front wheel.

I have been welding these wheels together for a couple years now, the PO used a impact (or something) to tighten the wheels and he must of over tightened them. These wheels are cast iron and the center of them are just shattered. I have welded and brazed them. It would hold for a month or two then start cracking again. Well I guess one cracked again and I didn't know it. When I was mowing I turned and off came the wheel. So here I am new back tires and now no front wheels. I got to looking and I could get new front wheels for $125.00 each (ouch) and I thought I could go a cheaper rout then that. I ended up finding some boat trailer rims that had to small of a bolt pattern, I ended up cutting the center out of the rim and welding in another center and making my own bolt pattern. While I had the front wheels off, I went a head and pulled the front hubs and ordered new bearings, the ones in them were shot and the front hubs had a bad wobble. I had to wait a couple days for the bearings to come in, I went ahead and added rear wheel weights and fluid filled the back tires while I was waiting. I then got the bearings and everything I needed to put it all together so I could finally test out the back tires. I stuck on one front hub and then started on the other. I'm not sure what happened but somehow I knocked out the first 2 threads in the locking nut for the hub :wallbanging:, I knew I would half to wait till the next day when the local hardware store would be open. I though I would go ahead and mount the front tires on the new (modified) front rims. Got one on and aired up. Got the other on, aired up and then it went flat :wallbanging:. So I was then completely done fo