Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Sears rectifier


  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#16 Firefighter912 OFFLINE  

Firefighter912
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72788
  • 12 Thanks
  • 123 posts
  • Location: GA

Posted July 16, 2015 - 09:36 PM

Yeah I think that's where I got the diagram from.

So this means the rectifier doesn't run through the switch..right? Just straight to the battery?

#17 glgrumpy OFFLINE  

glgrumpy

    Getting Out!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,652 Thanks
  • 6,469 posts
  • Location: Huntington, IN 46750 North East in State

Posted July 16, 2015 - 10:17 PM

Can put it on the Battery cable terminal of the selenoid if it has one?  Seems like many go to the selinoid, just not sure which side on the big batt terms. Seems like it would need to be the one direct from battery?



#18 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,943 Thanks
  • 3,322 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted July 16, 2015 - 10:18 PM

That is the way I see it. but if you are re-wiring might I suggest adding a 20A inline fuse to protect the regulator and stator.



#19 Firefighter912 OFFLINE  

Firefighter912
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72788
  • 12 Thanks
  • 123 posts
  • Location: GA

Posted July 16, 2015 - 10:20 PM

I have no solenoid. They said the original key switch was the solenoid but I got a new key switch from the parts store which had the magneto terminal.

I'll add a fuse to it tomorrow then.

Now it's trying to get the carburetor set up. I took off work tomorrow..hoping to get it running so I can mow with it finally.

#20 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,943 Thanks
  • 3,322 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted July 16, 2015 - 10:31 PM

Oh boy. Magneto pulls ~2 amps, Starter pulls ~ 100 amps. Let us know how long the key switch lasts.



#21 Firefighter912 OFFLINE  

Firefighter912
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72788
  • 12 Thanks
  • 123 posts
  • Location: GA

Posted July 16, 2015 - 10:33 PM

Suggest I install a solenoid?

#22 glgrumpy OFFLINE  

glgrumpy

    Getting Out!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,652 Thanks
  • 6,469 posts
  • Location: Huntington, IN 46750 North East in State

Posted July 16, 2015 - 10:48 PM

You know my Speedex some models have the big batt cables run right thru the key switch. I've had many have smoke let out and not work anymore or least get hot and Iffy on working.  Last one I did, put in regular switch and selonoid system and is much better. Think all tractors should have one. Saving a few bucks when building new doesn't work on this set-up.



#23 Firefighter912 OFFLINE  

Firefighter912
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72788
  • 12 Thanks
  • 123 posts
  • Location: GA

Posted July 16, 2015 - 10:51 PM

I'll get a solenoid then tomorrow.

Do I need a two post solenoid then?

#24 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,269 Thanks
  • 28,607 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted July 17, 2015 - 06:46 AM

The two small post units are mainly for safety switches. I don't think yours has any.
You need a big term for batt in, a second for out to starter, and a small term for trigger. Base grounded.
If you end up with a 4th term that does nothing, that's OK too.

NOW, I will say this. Not all switches are created equal. If you have one of these systems and put in an off the shelf switch, you will get what Grumpy explained... If you get the switch with the right contacts and the big screw terminals, it will be fine.
My SS12 has a replacement OEM style switch and it is just like you're describing. No issues, works fine.
They eventually HAD to go to solenoid a as they used bendix starters and bigger engines.
I almost wired in a solenoid, but the last one worked for 40 years and I won't care 40 years from now.

The right switch is available for around 20 (check with our site sponsors) and will look like this

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpg


#25 TAHOE OFFLINE  

TAHOE
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 24522
  • 6,480 Thanks
  • 4,937 posts
  • Location: "Hamiltucky" Ohio

Posted July 17, 2015 - 07:22 AM

Be very carfeul with what witch you get. If you have the SSI ignition which is likely since it's a 71, adding 12V to the kill wire and Poof! New module needed.

 

If you are in there, I would recommend adding a solenoid to the system, just a better system for starting and assurance IMO. I personally would also run the charge wire through the ignition terminal on the switch and add in line fuse also.


Edited by TAHOE, July 17, 2015 - 07:24 AM.


#26 Firefighter912 OFFLINE  

Firefighter912
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72788
  • 12 Thanks
  • 123 posts
  • Location: GA

Posted July 17, 2015 - 08:56 AM

Which terminal would I run the charge wire to? I only have B, M, L, S, and G terminals.

#27 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,943 Thanks
  • 3,322 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted July 17, 2015 - 10:11 AM

You need a switch that has a "R" terminal for Regulator. This is shown in diagram "N" in the PDF.



#28 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,269 Thanks
  • 28,607 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted July 17, 2015 - 11:05 AM

You might consider the solenoid, the fuse, and leaving the switch as is.

#29 Firefighter912 OFFLINE  

Firefighter912
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 72788
  • 12 Thanks
  • 123 posts
  • Location: GA

Posted July 17, 2015 - 11:17 AM

I've seen a switch with the R on it but it didn't have the M terminal for the magneto.


So, ok...run the rectifier wire with 20 amp fuse to the battery?

#30 TAHOE OFFLINE  

TAHOE
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 24522
  • 6,480 Thanks
  • 4,937 posts
  • Location: "Hamiltucky" Ohio

Posted July 17, 2015 - 11:30 AM

Must be the days for regulators, I'm helping some kid through FB do the same thing.

 

Here's how I have mine wired.....

Look at your regulator/rectifier, it should have stamped markings AC, B+ and AC, middle one should be B+. That wire should go through a fuse, I run a 20 amp, but yours is probably the 10 amp stator so I would run a 10 or 15 on yours, then connect to the L spade on the switch. I have a wire on the B on switch running to one side of Ohm meter, then other side goes down to the solenoid and connects to battery cable on solenoid that comes from the battery. The S spade on switch goes down to the small post on the solenoid. The M is kill wire for module.

You could probably run charge wire to the B terminal on the switch, but I have mine setup so it can only run charge voltage while ignition is in run position. Not sure if needed or even possible, but it prevents any discharge of battery through the stator while sitting.

 

Bet you have this switch.....

 

 

st16 SWITCH2.JPG


Edited by TAHOE, July 17, 2015 - 11:31 AM.





Top