Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Looking for NTM Computer!


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 grnspot110 ONLINE  

grnspot110

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 829
  • 3,977 Thanks
  • 2,580 posts
  • Location: North Central MO

Posted July 16, 2015 - 06:39 PM

My old "Emachines" desktop is getting really slow, looking about a replacement.

I don't need anything fancy, just one that works! I use mine mostly for forums, lots of picture storage (I have "clickfree" backup & an external hard drive hooked up now). Pay some bills with it & internet ordering, researching things I'm buying, etc.

I mostly use Google Chrome, AVG free version, Ccleaner, did have Malwarebytes free until trial ran out. Printshop, AbiWord.

Looking at the possibility of a "refurbished" computer from "discountcomputerdepot". Anybody dealt with them?
Not looking to spend a lot, but need to be doing something!

Any input?



#2 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,991 Thanks
  • 4,159 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted July 17, 2015 - 10:38 AM

Planning on windows?   



#3 grnspot110 ONLINE  

grnspot110

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 829
  • 3,977 Thanks
  • 2,580 posts
  • Location: North Central MO

Posted July 17, 2015 - 11:38 AM

Planning on windows?   

Yes, most of what I've looked at in the refurbished ones have Windows 7 Professional.  I'm running Windows Home Premium 64-bit now.



#4 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,863 Thanks
  • 4,748 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted July 18, 2015 - 09:04 AM

For running Windows 7, look for one with at least 4GB memory.  8GB memory would be better.

 

Also looking at the processors, I'd look for one that is 3 GHz.

 

Since you mentioned "a lot of pics", I'd look for a 1TB HHD as well.

 

With the above in mind, it looks like you have a decent price range on their offerings:

 

http://discountcompu...h-terabyte.html

 

You may want to verify with them that the 64-Bit version of Win 7 is installed as opposed to the 32-Bit version.


Edited by OldBuzzard, July 18, 2015 - 10:01 AM.

  • grnspot110 and Trav1s have said thanks

#5 chieffan ONLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 8,809 Thanks
  • 6,044 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted August 13, 2015 - 06:15 PM

My old "Emachines" desktop is getting really slow, looking about a replacement.

I don't need anything fancy, just one that works! I use mine mostly for forums, lots of picture storage (I have "clickfree" backup & an external hard drive hooked up now). Pay some bills with it & internet ordering, researching things I'm buying, etc.

I mostly use Google Chrome, AVG free version, Ccleaner, did have Malwarebytes free until trial ran out. Printshop, AbiWord.

Looking at the possibility of a "refurbished" computer from "discountcomputerdepot". Anybody dealt with them?
Not looking to spend a lot, but need to be doing something!

Any input?

RE: Malwarebytes.  You can keep right on using the free version even though the trial period run out.  Load it up again and use it and when that window pops up click on Use Free Version and keep right on going.  I have been running the free version for a couple years now.  Updates and all.  Not automatic but a lot better than nothing.






Top