Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Eaton/Peerless?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,455 Thanks
  • 39,686 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted July 12, 2015 - 01:45 PM

I know shortly after getting this rear end, I asked about it. But it's been a while and I have dug it out again. The #'s are:

MOD2548

Peerless

4040 4226

It is offset to the right about 1-1/2" from what I see. The LH axle tube is right at 3" longer than the RH. I sure would like to know what it came from. It is not a Ford/Jacobsen. Nor a Sears FF. 5 Bolt hubs that are different from any I have seen. I am wondering which other brands used the Eaton/Peerless combo. Any folks out there with an idea, speak up!

2015-07-12 12.06.06.jpg     2015-07-12 12.06.23.jpg

2015-07-12 12.06.37.jpg     2015-07-12 12.06.51.jpg

2015-07-12 12.07.10.jpg     2015-07-12 12.07.31.jpg

 

There is no brake on this at all! Also, the FWD/REV lever has what appears to have been a detent for Neutral on the LH side of the frame. A real odd ball as far as I am concerned.

 

I have a yet to be named project coming up and had hoped to use this. But, I'll be using a spare Ford set-up instead. I'm fixing to stuff one of these where it has never been before!


  • Alc, boyscout862 and Chopperhed have said thanks

#2 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

    Therapy CAT

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 11,728 Thanks
  • 8,910 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted July 12, 2015 - 02:47 PM

Jacobsen used Eaton/Peerless combos in their front mount, rear steer units.
  • KennyP and Chopperhed have said thanks

#3 glgrumpy ONLINE  

glgrumpy

    Getting Out!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,661 Thanks
  • 6,475 posts
  • Location: Huntington, IN 46750 North East in State

Posted July 12, 2015 - 03:55 PM

My Speedex has that. Not sure I have good pix of it to see much, I'll look. Mine was red tho, same as tractor. MTD and some allis? I think used.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20150402_213447.jpg
  • 20150402_213431.jpg
  • 20150315_173218.jpg

Edited by glgrumpy, July 12, 2015 - 04:01 PM.

  • KennyP, Chopperhed and TomLGT195 have said thanks

#4 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,455 Thanks
  • 39,686 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted July 12, 2015 - 04:04 PM

But the mount is different! Mine still has the frame mounts on it!


  • Chopperhed said thank you

#5 skyrydr2 ONLINE  

skyrydr2

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,410 Thanks
  • 3,162 posts
  • Location: Gardner, Massachusetts!

Posted July 12, 2015 - 07:21 PM

Kenny that unit is from a gilson made ford , I have one sitting in my shed. That one has a newer and smoother hydro unit, great replacement unit for your Ford if Its acting up. The brake unit for that unit is a disk set up. They were easy to use on other units with minor adaption, so that may be why its missing.
  • MH81, Alc and KennyP have said thanks

#6 HALFSCALE ONLINE  

HALFSCALE

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 4343
  • 413 Thanks
  • 485 posts
  • Location: YORK,PA

Posted July 13, 2015 - 02:11 AM

Steiner also used a similar set up, both front and back.


  • KennyP said thank you

#7 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,455 Thanks
  • 39,686 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted July 13, 2015 - 04:42 AM

Thanks guys! I saw the shaft for a brake. It was hidden by a hose.


  • Alc said thank you




Top