18 replies to this topic

#1 chieffan ONLINE  

chieffan
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 6,166 Thanks
  • 4,510 posts

Posted July 09, 2015 - 06:38 PM

I have been fighting this problem for over 2 months now.  A Wisconsin 10D in a Bolens 1053.  Ran great last winter and into spring with the plow and later the tiller.  Then when I started weeding with the tiller it started acting up.  Would run OK when cold but after it got warmed up good, like 15 min of pulling, it start to pop, sputter and die down.  Had to back the throttle down to 3/4 and it still was not running like it should.  Would even die.  Let it sit for 5 seconds and it would fire right up but would not run good under a load.

With the deck on it is the same old thing.  Run good for 15 min and then let out a pop or two, and start sputtering and slow down.  3/4 throttle and it will stay running but not smooth like it should.  I have tried 2 different carbs, both with rebuild kits in them.  Drained the fuel line & tank and removed the in line filter.  New points and condenser as well as a new plug.  Same old story, runs ok for 15 min and then it goes to pot.  Points are staying right on .020 and timing is dead on with a timing light. Plug is gaped at .030.  After it gets hot it runs good without the deck engaged but engage the deck and it runs like crap.  I have tired everything I can think of and at this point it is in the back of the shed.  When I am in a better mood will pull the deck off and put in under a 1050 with the same engine.  Unless someone can come up with a solution the 1053 is going to become a parts tractor.

Open to any and all suggestions.

• Buddy, propane1 and PushistikPi have said thanks

#2 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

DR. Bolens

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,209 posts

Posted July 09, 2015 - 06:50 PM

One thing I didnt see you list : (Valve Tappet clearances )