Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Ariens gt20 Towing


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 tom tractor OFFLINE  

tom tractor
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 51604
  • 182 Thanks
  • 194 posts
  • Location: Brookfield MA

Posted July 07, 2015 - 03:06 PM

The ariens gt20 says not to tow with the machine. Why not and what could go wrong? How is towing different from heavy ground engaging attachments?

Edited by tom tractor, July 07, 2015 - 03:06 PM.


#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,474 Thanks
  • 39,712 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted July 07, 2015 - 04:07 PM

I think that means 'Not to Tow' the tractor. I could be wrong!



#3 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,803 Thanks
  • 7,543 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted July 07, 2015 - 05:34 PM

Towing a hydrostatic transmission can do damage to the pump in it. Most hydrostatic transmissions have a way to release the pressure and roll the tractor. Read the Manual for it. Good Luck, Rick



#4 tom tractor OFFLINE  

tom tractor
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 51604
  • 182 Thanks
  • 194 posts
  • Location: Brookfield MA

Posted July 07, 2015 - 05:57 PM

Typical!  I comprehended the "Do not Tow" wrong.  I don't know if it would help to read the manual in my case. Thanks for setting me straight.


  • Alc and KennyP have said thanks

#5 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,474 Thanks
  • 39,712 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted July 07, 2015 - 06:04 PM

It's all right, Tom. I think we all have a 'blonde' moment every now and then!


  • tom tractor said thank you

#6 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6172
  • 3,565 Thanks
  • 3,946 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted July 07, 2015 - 08:43 PM

I know from experiance, one does not need blond hair to have a blond moment.


  • KennyP said thank you

#7 victor3ranger OFFLINE  

victor3ranger
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 48052
  • 310 Thanks
  • 603 posts
  • Location: Ponca City Oklahoma

Posted July 08, 2015 - 10:03 AM

I know from experiance, one does not need blond hair to have a blond moment.

I am the perfect example of this but now my brown hair is turning silver so I guess I will be kind-of blonde soon. :D


  • shorty said thank you




Top