Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

opinion on powerweld mini mig welder (180A / 230v)

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 motobreeder ONLINE  

motobreeder

• Contributor
  • Member No: 3989
  • 425 Thanks
  • 611 posts

Posted July 04, 2015 - 01:45 PM

Anyone have experience with the "powerweld" mini-mig welders?

These welders are available at busybee and TSC (canada) stores.

Is this a good or bad one?  Are the parts compatible with the Lincoln welder?

Before I can use this, I'm going to have to run a 230v outlet.  A task well within my skill set.

I have a 4500 watt Porter Cable generator - I'm wondering if that's recommended or not.

This one is interesting - it's on sale right now for about $300.

http://www.tscstores...DER-P20997.aspx

My intent is to use a welder for general repairs on garden tractor parts.

I've never used one before, but my son will be getting welding instruction at school this fall.

Edited by motobreeder, July 04, 2015 - 05:29 PM.

#2 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,653 Thanks
  • 29,841 posts

Posted July 04, 2015 - 04:24 PM

It sure looks a lot like a Clarke Mig.  If it is made by Clarke, then it's a pretty decent welder.  I have a Clarke 180EN and it is the only welder I used in building my FEL, and I've put that loader through heck, and no welds have ever failed.

clarke mig.JPG

• Alc, motobreeder and Cvans have said thanks

#3 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,522 Thanks
  • 5,033 posts

Posted July 06, 2015 - 01:33 PM

They sure do look similar.

• motobreeder said thank you

#4 backyardtinker OFFLINE  

backyardtinker
  • Member No: 73578
  • 249 Thanks
  • 182 posts

Posted July 28, 2015 - 10:10 PM