I am new at this and growing tomatoes any advice would be appreciated thanks
  • oldedeeres and laurarg3 have said thanks

#2 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,788 Thanks
  • 7,540 posts

Posted June 30, 2015 - 09:52 AM

Feed them, water them, and support them. Don't let them be very wet. If you use cages, set them up when the plants are small or you will break branches when putting the cages on them. I like to mulch around the plants to cut down on weeds. In a pinch, old newspapers will even work for mulch. Good Luck, Rick

• oldedeeres said thank you

#3 cootertom OFFLINE  

cootertom
  • Member No: 59950
  • 1,326 Thanks
  • 718 posts

Posted June 30, 2015 - 09:54 AM

Feed them, water them, and support them. Don't let them be very wet. If you use cages, set them up when the plants are small or you will break branches when putting the cages on them. I like to mulch around the plants to cut down on weeds. In a pinch, old newspapers will even work for mulch. Good Luck, Rick

I shred all the junk mail and use it as mulch.

• Alc, Delmar and boyscout862 have said thanks

#4 dthomp17 OFFLINE  

dthomp17

• Contributor
  • Member No: 2987
  • 494 Thanks
  • 411 posts

Posted June 30, 2015 - 09:57 AM

I don't claim to be an expert by any means but this is what I do and I've had reasonable success.  They need at least a half a day of full sun, In Georgia you need to add lime to prevent blossom end rot.  I always start mine from plants and usually plant them as deep as the first branch and leaves. They need about an inch of water once a week.  I fertilize with 10 10 10 at a rate of about one teaspoon full around each plant initially when planted and again about a month later.  They need to be staked and tied to keep the limbs and fruit off the ground as they grow.  Hope that's a little help.

Good luck, Don

• Alc and FrozenInTime have said thanks

#5 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-