Jump to content

Time to Vote for Tractor of the Month!
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Ignition Switch


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Wm McNett OFFLINE  

Wm McNett

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1428
  • 121 Thanks
  • 165 posts
  • Location: Adrian, MI 49221

Posted June 17, 2015 - 05:36 PM

Who makes a good 6 terminal ignition switch?
The one I bought off Jacks using the Ariens part number 2 years ago started giving me fits last year.
Figured out the offset "I" terminal that powers the coil is not supplying power in start.
Today I noticed it was loose and if I hold it just right it will supply power in start.

GT19 Kohler KT19 series II battery points ignition.


Edited by Wm McNett, June 18, 2015 - 08:54 AM.

  • laurarg3 said thank you

#2 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 13,756 Thanks
  • 17,647 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 17, 2015 - 05:46 PM

Whats the part number you got?

Almost all ignition switches are made by the same company (Indak)



#3 Wm McNett OFFLINE  

Wm McNett

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1428
  • 121 Thanks
  • 165 posts
  • Location: Adrian, MI 49221

Posted June 18, 2015 - 08:53 AM

Ariens 53123700


  • Bolens 1000 said thank you

#4 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 13,756 Thanks
  • 17,647 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 18, 2015 - 09:00 AM

Its just a regular indak, could have been a rare defect.

No matter where you buy from they all use indak as their supplier for this part


  • Wm McNett said thank you

#5 Wm McNett OFFLINE  

Wm McNett

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1428
  • 121 Thanks
  • 165 posts
  • Location: Adrian, MI 49221

Posted June 19, 2015 - 06:59 AM

$40+ later I ordered another one, then tore mine apart re-staked the "I" terminal, bent the plate that connects to it a little and re-assembled it. We'll see how it goes after yesterdays rain gets burned off ;)


Edited by Wm McNett, June 19, 2015 - 06:59 AM.


#6 Wm McNett OFFLINE  

Wm McNett

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1428
  • 121 Thanks
  • 165 posts
  • Location: Adrian, MI 49221

Posted December 12, 2016 - 05:36 PM

Broke down and installed my new switch afer it snowed, the neighbor has been mowing so I haven't needed it.
Needless to say, same issue, no power to the coil during cranking.
I'm going to guess the diode on the battery terminal is burned out.
I have a few larger ones in my box of electronic stuff, some Packard 56 terminals, connectors, Delphi chimpers, and heat shrink tube so I'll build another one and swap it out.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk

#7 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,424 Thanks
  • 4,587 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted December 13, 2016 - 06:49 AM

Very frustrating when new parts don't work like they should. I wired in a push button start when my switch went bad. Not a perfect fix, but it gets the job done.

#8 Wm McNett OFFLINE  

Wm McNett

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1428
  • 121 Thanks
  • 165 posts
  • Location: Adrian, MI 49221

Posted December 13, 2016 - 12:23 PM

New dual 6 amp 400 volt diode assembly, just needs a little insulation

e33bf39da383c1b220b45b7a43d43d9e.jpg

I order a few more doides from allelectronics.
I can make them for a 1/10 of what the Ariens part costs.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
  • Cvans and Scrapr65 have said thanks

#9 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 5,351 Thanks
  • 5,505 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted December 13, 2016 - 01:23 PM

I would think those buggers ought to do the job.  :D


  • Wm McNett said thank you

#10 Wm McNett OFFLINE  

Wm McNett

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1428
  • 121 Thanks
  • 165 posts
  • Location: Adrian, MI 49221

Posted December 14, 2016 - 02:24 PM

Here's my original

f7c53c341b51fe85fdd6a800574becbd.jpg

Which is a IN5404 = 3 amp 400 volt

With my meter, I have continuity in both directions. I would have assumed that it would read open.

I looked up the new Ariens part and you can see they used 2 that are huge, similar to what I have now.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
  • Cvans said thank you




Top