Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Bolens Ride-A-Matic 231-01 232-01

need ignition help

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 rabass41 OFFLINE  

rabass41
  • Member
  • Member No: 71863
  • 5 Thanks
  • 6 posts
  • Location: Indiana

Posted June 12, 2015 - 09:30 AM

Hello, I'm new to GTT and hope I can get some help.. I recently bought a Bolens ride-a-matic 231-01/232-01 with a Kohler K161 and it had a bad stator (which was dissasembled and stator removed) I found a replacement and reinstalled to the engine but am not sure where the wires actully connect.. Getting as far as I have I realized I have no plug wire. Please see attched pictures to let me know if I have the wiring right.. I have the kill switch, points and red wire from coil connected to the condensor. I would appreciate any help you'all can provide, also does the plug wire connect to the stator coil ??? Please help !!!

 

DSC01058.JPG

 

DSC01059.JPG

 

DSC01060.JPG


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#2 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 12, 2015 - 09:40 AM

Hello Welcome to GTT :wave:

 

You do have the two magneto wires hooked up correctly , the plug wire is going to be installed on that small loop in the center of the mag

 

(See picture below for the spark plug wire routing) Do not pay attention to my red and black coil wires as I originally had them crossed in this pic!

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • post-7-0-70115900-1369607726.jpg

  • boyscout862 said thank you

#3 crittersf1 OFFLINE  

crittersf1

    GT Lunatic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 26142
  • 4,169 Thanks
  • 5,761 posts
  • Location: Newport, N.C.

Posted June 12, 2015 - 09:48 AM

:welcometogttalk:


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#4 boyscout862 OFFLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,803 Thanks
  • 7,543 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted June 12, 2015 - 10:43 AM

Welcome to GTT. Check out our Manuals Section for 3 free downloads per day. There are plenty of Bolens Manuals. Good Luck, Rick

 

Try this   http://gardentractor...-01-and-232-01/


Edited by boyscout862, June 12, 2015 - 10:46 AM.


#5 rabass41 OFFLINE  

rabass41
  • Member
  • Member No: 71863
  • 5 Thanks
  • 6 posts
  • Location: Indiana

Posted June 12, 2015 - 10:47 AM

Thank you very much ! I wasn't sure so used a little logic and what vauge info I could find .. I was wonndering if I can buy the plug wire at any implement store ?? Thanks gain for your help !

#6 chieffan OFFLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 6,166 Thanks
  • 4,507 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted June 12, 2015 - 11:46 AM

Welcome to GTTalk. You can get that plug wire at about any automotive or implement repair shop. They would probably have an extra length & end with cap from a re-wiring job. I have that same machine and put on an electronic ignition. Did away with the points completely. Makes a world of difference in starting and running, plus you don't have to gap the points - EVER. Any module for a single cylinder engine will work. It may say for single cylinder Briggs but will work on a Kohler or Wisconsin as well. Good luck with your project.

#7 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 12, 2015 - 12:33 PM

Thank you very much ! I wasn't sure so used a little logic and what vauge info I could find .. I was wonndering if I can buy the plug wire at any implement store ?? Thanks gain for your help !

 

Any lawn and garden shop worth their salt  should stock bulk plug wire to sell to you. If you dont have luck locally I call sell you some precut with the plug clip installed.

 

This is a bullet proof ignition system and with that new coil your machine will start on the first pull every time when you get it hooked up.



#8 chieffan OFFLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 6,166 Thanks
  • 4,507 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted June 12, 2015 - 02:09 PM

 

This is a bullet proof ignition system and with that new coil your machine will start on the first pull every time when you get it hooked up.

Pretty strong statement there Brian.  First pull every time?  Start on ONE pull ever time is a sure thing.



#9 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 12, 2015 - 04:41 PM

Pretty strong statement there Brian.  First pull every time?  Start on ONE pull ever time is a sure thing.

 

All my Kohler Singles will start on one pull that I have rebuilt and or replaced the mags on .

Both the Versa-matic and restored Ride-a-Matic were sitting since last August and both started in one pull after sitting all winter this spring.

 

My Grandfather always said if they dont start on one pull somethings wrong!


  • chieffan said thank you

#10 chieffan OFFLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 6,166 Thanks
  • 4,507 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted June 12, 2015 - 05:38 PM

All my Kohler Singles will start on one pull that I have rebuilt and or replaced the mags on .

Both the Versa-matic and restored Ride-a-Matic were sitting since last August and both started in one pull after sitting all winter this spring.

 

My Grandfather always said if they dont start on one pull somethings wrong!

You are absolutely right.  They all will start on ONE pull.   It may take 3 or 4 pulls to get to the ONE that it starts on.  You said  FIRST  pull the first time.  Caught you on that one.  :thumbs:  :wave:  :smilewink:



#11 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 12, 2015 - 05:41 PM

I meant to say first pull not one pull.

 

If you have everything tuned there's no reason they shouldn't start right up on the first pull , cold start.






Top