Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

WOW, There Is A Hydro In There.


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,724 Thanks
  • 15,469 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted June 03, 2015 - 12:53 PM

I've got an old JD 300 that had a broke rod in it and I also have a JD 216 with rearend issues. I decided to take the good running K341 out of the 216 and install it in the 300 so I have another mowing tractor for the year. I needed to pull the fender pan to get the tank off to clean it and I also thought I would pressure wash the whole tractor while the engine is out and tank/seat pan off. I couldn't believe how much dirt and crud was on this hydro. There was so much dirt on the top of the hydro that the relief valves wouldn't push down to let the tractor free wheel.

 

               Before

IMG_20150602_114254_373.jpg

 

            After a bath..

IMG_20150602_154141_535.jpg


  • Alc, hamman, KennyP and 7 others have said thanks

#2 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 29,963 Thanks
  • 29,757 posts

Posted June 03, 2015 - 01:00 PM

Yuck, that's nasty.
Bet it works better now
  • Texas Deere and Horse and boyscout862 have said thanks

#3 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 39,674 Thanks
  • 30,972 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted June 03, 2015 - 01:09 PM

Wow, worse than the mental picture you gave me on the phone!  But have a question for you.  On my oldest John Deere F935, it has the same basic hydro system, and I've had it quit on me a couple times, and had to pull it in.  I push the buttons down, but can only go 10 feet or less and the buttons pop back up & I drag the drive wheels.  I thought the buttons are supposed to stay down until the hydro is running again??  


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#4 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,724 Thanks
  • 15,469 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted June 03, 2015 - 01:15 PM

Wow, worse than the mental picture you gave me on the phone!  But have a question for you.  On my oldest John Deere F935, it has the same basic hydro system, and I've had it quit on me a couple times, and had to pull it in.  I push the buttons down, but can only go 10 feet or less and the buttons pop back up & I drag the drive wheels.  I thought the buttons are supposed to stay down until the hydro is running again??  

 

They should have something hold them down as they are spring loaded and will come back up on their own with no help. If they are sticking down from rust and dirt, the hydro will build enough pressure when running to pop them back up.



#5 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 39,674 Thanks
  • 30,972 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted June 03, 2015 - 02:51 PM

Neither of my 935's have any provision for holding the buttons down.  I really need to fashion a clamp on tool of some sort to do just that. The only times I've had issue was when the engine isolator rubbers came apart so the drive shaft disconnected..


  • Texas Deere and Horse and KennyP have said thanks

#6 Leonard VanCamp ONLINE  

Leonard VanCamp
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 62684
  • 421 Thanks
  • 344 posts
  • Location: Pierre SD

Posted June 03, 2015 - 04:16 PM

Olcowhand, on the 140 and 300 series tractors that have this hydro there is a hole in the fender deck with a threaded nut welded to it. A threaded rod with a knob on one end and a cross bar on the other is run through this hole and nut to push against the buttons, maybe you could come up with a similar system.


Edited by Leonard VanCamp, June 03, 2015 - 04:16 PM.

  • Texas Deere and Horse and Trav1s have said thanks

#7 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 3,634 Thanks
  • 2,732 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted June 03, 2015 - 05:13 PM

That was certainly dirty. It should run a lot cooler now. 


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#8 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 36,448 Thanks
  • 44,935 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted June 03, 2015 - 05:19 PM

Are you sure Daniel didn't use this out in the cow pasture?


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#9 Trav1s OFFLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 3,103 Thanks
  • 4,241 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted June 03, 2015 - 05:39 PM

Both the 120 and the 314 I had for a while were like that.  The 312 was not so bad.


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#10 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,599 Thanks
  • 14,140 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted June 03, 2015 - 07:47 PM

Pretty filthy Brian! Did you get it running in the end? On my 317, one of those valves was sticking down. They are huge bucks from JD but somewhere I read that they are available from Sundstrand dealers for like 50$ each. I know where there is a 300 sitting outside with a broken steering wheel and no seat. I 'm going to knock on the door one of these days to see if they want to sell it. Good spare parts for my 314 and 317. If the engine is good I'd probably swap it into the 314. 


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#11 chris m ONLINE  

chris m

    Tractorholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8148
  • 3,334 Thanks
  • 4,060 posts
  • Location: Charlestown,Rhode Island

Posted June 03, 2015 - 10:54 PM

And here I thought the one on the JB I bought was dirty!!! Looks a lot better now :thumbs:


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#12 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 6,281 Thanks
  • 5,985 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted June 03, 2015 - 11:29 PM

Brian have you been dredging the river bottoms again? That was ugly. 


  • Texas Deere and Horse and KennyP have said thanks

#13 Oldford OFFLINE  

Oldford
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 50409
  • 1,134 Thanks
  • 786 posts
  • Location: n.e.

Posted June 04, 2015 - 07:47 AM

This thread reminds me i need to pull the pan on my 300, it doesn't freewheel.  hope it's something on the outside like texasdeerehorse tractor.

there is a guy on ebay rebuilds sunstrand valves if need be

http://www.ebay.com/...=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

i have no connection just putting it out there,


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you




Top