Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

front rim interchange


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 oddfirecj5 OFFLINE  

oddfirecj5
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 11152
  • 71 Thanks
  • 258 posts
  • Location: Hamilton, Michigan

Posted May 08, 2015 - 07:01 AM

been a while since i've been here. I have a question on front rim interchange. On my 1886-05 i have the four bolt hub rims which have the skinny tires on them. Wondering if i could use the rims off from my 1886-01 to use the hi flotation tires that are on there?


  • blackjackjakexxix and laurarg3 have said thanks

#2 chieffan ONLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 6,147 Thanks
  • 4,498 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted May 08, 2015 - 07:41 AM

Best way to find out is to try it once. I picked up a pair of JD rims with good Ag bar tires but they are to wide to go on the 1050. The rim fits OK, right center hole and all. Just to much tire. Will use them on the G16 when those give out.

#3 oddfirecj5 OFFLINE  

oddfirecj5
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 11152
  • 71 Thanks
  • 258 posts
  • Location: Hamilton, Michigan

Posted May 08, 2015 - 03:03 PM

yeah i think i will pull off the hub and see if it fits the spindle or wondering if i need to swap spindles.


  • blackjackjakexxix said thank you

#4 WrenchinOnIt OFFLINE  

WrenchinOnIt
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8592
  • 2,515 Thanks
  • 732 posts

Posted May 08, 2015 - 03:35 PM

Hello if you mean can you take the rims off the 1886-01 and use on the -05? Has the -01 been converted to the 4 stud hubs? Does your -01 have wheel studs?If not you'll have to swap out the hubs.

Edited by WrenchinOnIt, May 08, 2015 - 03:47 PM.

  • blackjackjakexxix said thank you

#5 blackjackjakexxix ONLINE  

blackjackjakexxix

    Blackjackjakexxix

  • Senior Member
  • Sponsor
  • Member No: 2194
  • 2,356 Thanks
  • 1,763 posts
  • Location: Pulaski,Pa 16143

Posted May 08, 2015 - 03:46 PM

If you pull the 4 bolt hub assembly off,your wheels from your 1886-01 should work,I changed my 1886 that didn't have the 4 bolt wheels to the newer 4 bolt wheel and had no problems
  • WrenchinOnIt said thank you

#6 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,482 Thanks
  • 4,634 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted May 08, 2015 - 04:49 PM

It would be easier to just get a set of the wide wheels for the -05.

 

The HI-Flotation wheel for the -01 is a 10" wheel and the tire was a 18x8.50-10

 

The HI-Flotation wheel for the -05 is an 8" wheel and the tire was a 18x8.50-8.

 

You will have a lot more options with the 18x8.50-8 than you will with the 18x8.50-10, one of which would be the excellent Vredestein V61.


  • blackjackjakexxix said thank you

#7 blackjackjakexxix ONLINE  

blackjackjakexxix

    Blackjackjakexxix

  • Senior Member
  • Sponsor
  • Member No: 2194
  • 2,356 Thanks
  • 1,763 posts
  • Location: Pulaski,Pa 16143

Posted May 08, 2015 - 05:08 PM

Only problem is,he needs to make sure what hubs he has,the LF HT's used 2 different hubs,one hub needs to have the wheel spacers to get the rim out far enough not to hit the ball joints
  • OldBuzzard said thank you

#8 wilberj ONLINE  

wilberj
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 51
  • 4,210 Thanks
  • 5,217 posts
  • Location: Michigan

Posted May 08, 2015 - 05:10 PM

If you pull the 4 bolt hub assembly off,your wheels from your 1886-01 should work,I changed my 1886 that didn't have the 4 bolt wheels to the newer 4 bolt wheel and had no problems

 

:ditto:  They interchange its a simple change. 



#9 oddfirecj5 OFFLINE  

oddfirecj5
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 11152
  • 71 Thanks
  • 258 posts
  • Location: Hamilton, Michigan

Posted May 09, 2015 - 07:37 AM

am i just able to not use the hubs?



#10 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,482 Thanks
  • 4,634 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted May 09, 2015 - 09:18 AM

Only problem is,he needs to make sure what hubs he has,the LF HT's used 2 different hubs,one hub needs to have the wheel spacers to get the rim out far enough not to hit the ball joints

 

True, but even then, it would be easier to get the wide 4-bolt wheels and, if needed the spacers, for the -05 since it already has the 4-bolt hubs.

 

That way he would have hi-flotation on both tractors.


Edited by OldBuzzard, May 09, 2015 - 09:19 AM.

  • blackjackjakexxix said thank you

#11 blackjackjakexxix ONLINE  

blackjackjakexxix

    Blackjackjakexxix

  • Senior Member
  • Sponsor
  • Member No: 2194
  • 2,356 Thanks
  • 1,763 posts
  • Location: Pulaski,Pa 16143

Posted May 09, 2015 - 09:27 AM

Dave I agree 100% with that



#12 oddfirecj5 OFFLINE  

oddfirecj5
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 11152
  • 71 Thanks
  • 258 posts
  • Location: Hamilton, Michigan

Posted May 10, 2015 - 07:27 AM

well yesterday i got out to the barn and tore into changing the rims on the two tractors. everything swapped over with no issues.






Top