Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Bolens 1050 TRA-10D Head Bold torque

bolens 1050 tra-10d

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 MrFixit1599 OFFLINE  

MrFixit1599
  • Member
  • Member No: 10251
  • 71 Thanks
  • 71 posts
  • Location: Lomira, WI

Posted May 02, 2015 - 10:29 PM

Ok, I have looked everywhere for the torque specs for the head bolts.  I found the engine assembly manual, but I could not find anywhere that specified the torque spec.  I was berated in my previous post about modern engine oil because I mentioned it leaked a little, so I have now ordered a new gasket set.  Can I reuse the old bolts, or should I get new ones.  Then what should they torqued to.  I realize I could just look up the torque specs for that size bolt, but it seems there is probably a factory recommended spec.


  • MyBolens1053 said thank you

#2 chris m OFFLINE  

chris m

    Tractorholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8148
  • 3,277 Thanks
  • 4,033 posts
  • Location: Charlestown,Rhode Island

Posted May 02, 2015 - 11:06 PM

I have always had good luck reusing the bolts, The Spec for that engine is 18 Ft Lbs.

 

Good luck :thumbs:


  • superaben and MyBolens1053 have said thanks

#3 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,670 Thanks
  • 17,197 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted May 03, 2015 - 07:05 AM

I uploaded Wisconsin's 2015 wall chart for all engine specs

 

http://gardentractor...t-2015-version/


  • LPBolens, Bruce Dorsi, chris m and 1 other said thanks

#4 29 Chev ONLINE  

29 Chev
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 63590
  • 3,099 Thanks
  • 1,195 posts
  • Location: Ontario Canada

Posted May 03, 2015 - 09:55 AM

Here is a copy of page 17 from the original manual - mentions torque spec for the bolts and to do it in three steps.

Attached Files


  • MyBolens1053 said thank you

#5 heliosuk OFFLINE  

heliosuk
  • Member
  • Member No: 59196
  • 87 Thanks
  • 91 posts
  • Location: Cheshire UK

Posted May 03, 2015 - 06:36 PM

Whether or not to use new bolts depends on the bolt strength and whether or not the original torque value puts the bolt into yield. At the values given I would suggest not i.e. on a standard bolt in metric terms then the size of the bolt and torque values specified mean you can use them approximately 3 times before any degradation sets is likely to set in . In fact, in my opinion the values given seem rather low for a head bolt.



#6 MrFixit1599 OFFLINE  

MrFixit1599
  • Member
  • Member No: 10251
  • 71 Thanks
  • 71 posts
  • Location: Lomira, WI

Posted May 25, 2015 - 09:56 PM

It's like a brand new tractor, or engine at least.  So I finally got around to replacing the head gasket on Saturday.  While I was in there I cleaned up all the deposits and other nasty crap.  Re-assembled everything and got it fired up, but didn't really use it on Saturday.  Today I mowed the yard with it, and it was like I had a 5 HP motor before, now I actually have 10.  Before I had to mow pretty much everything in L2, sometimes L3 if it was light, even down to L1 if it was really thick.  Today the grass level was L2 -L3 in the old tractor.  I did both yards, which usually takes 2 hours or so, in an hour.   Never had to take it out of H2.  I tried H3 but that didnt give it enough time to actually cut the grass.  It really is like I have a whole new tractor.  Wish I would have done this 2 years ago when I bought it.


  • MyBolens1053 said thank you

#7 sodisr OFFLINE  

sodisr
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9153
  • 651 Thanks
  • 762 posts
  • Location: kenosha Wi

Posted May 26, 2015 - 10:23 AM

I agree with you ,Chris,, Dr. B and chev..   It's a lawn mower for crying out loud .!!  Your'e not trying to build a dragster..

 

   Mrfixit;;   follow  above  as mentioned,, in sequence,, you'll be fine..  

 

  I had to do mine once,, in a hurry,,  Would have liked to run it a few min. and then re torque.    But it is a small chore with the shroud and coil  and other things.. I snugged them all up,, repeated ( in sequence )  and did it a third time..  It's lasted years...  



#8 robert kohl OFFLINE  

robert kohl
  • Member
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 62641
  • 0 Thanks
  • 1 posts
  • Location: wheatland pa.

Posted September 28, 2016 - 07:11 PM

what is the sequence to torque them on the tra10 anyone know



#9 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,670 Thanks
  • 17,197 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted September 28, 2016 - 07:38 PM

Torque to 18ft lbs

 

I've never seen a published sequence from Wisconsin , just go around  diagonally tightening them a little at a time so even pressure gets applied.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: bolens, 1050, tra-10d

Top