Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Cleaning the nuts and bolts.


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted March 21, 2011 - 08:03 AM

When doing a resto, how do you tackle that part of the project?
It's a painful, tedious operation, but maybe it doesn't have to be.:wallbanging:

Post your method.

#2 jdslednut ONLINE  

jdslednut

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 77
  • 636 Thanks
  • 837 posts
  • Location: Winthrop, MN

Posted March 21, 2011 - 08:18 AM

I stick them in a carburetor cleaner soak, sometimes for 2 or 3 runs as the cleaner weakens.

#3 thecoater OFFLINE  

thecoater

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 757
  • 13 Thanks
  • 111 posts
  • Location: churchville ny

Posted March 21, 2011 - 08:58 AM

you can get a tumbler ,I have been eyeing a few but they get pricey

#4 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted March 21, 2011 - 09:43 AM

Has the tumbler worked for you, I have one and let some nuts and bolts run in it for two days,,, Didn't hardly scratch the surface rust..

#5 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted March 21, 2011 - 09:57 AM

I've been doing the hard way. In the vise with soft jaws, and a wire wheel, after degrease'g.
Sure would like to get away from that.

I've been trying to think of a way to do it in the electrolysis tank.
3 issues-keeping them sorted, line of sight coverage, and so many tiney alligator clips.
Nope, that's not the answer.

#6 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted March 21, 2011 - 10:08 AM

Could you wrap a copper wire or no.9 steel wire around them like they do when you chrome plate stuff?

Then you could hang all the wires from a common rod that is hooked to power..

#7 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted March 21, 2011 - 10:19 AM

I'm not sure if copper in there would be an issue.

How about a tray like an icecube tray, but larger, and made of steel sceen. Like screen door screening.(the good stuff)
Use a steel plate as the electrodes, and hang one under the tray, and one over.
May have to stir the hardware a few times.

It would take a bit to make the tray/basket so it's strong enough, but easily reusable.
I wonder if there is a beast out there like that.

#8 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted March 21, 2011 - 10:30 AM

Maybe you could use a steel colander from your wifes kitchen. They are round and bowl shaped, if you wanted to, you can reshape them.

#9 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted March 21, 2011 - 10:32 AM

They say once you get to the 55 gallon drum size or larger line of sight isn't so much of an issue. What about a metal strainer, I understand it may not last too long so get cheap ones and do one assortment of nuts and bolts at a time?

I usually use all new hardware and don't worry about the original bolts or they get cleaned up for the most part from sandblasting and then I just wire brush anything that was missed.

#10 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,692 Thanks
  • 17,206 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted March 21, 2011 - 06:25 PM

They say once you get to the 55 gallon drum size or larger line of sight isn't so much of an issue. What about a metal strainer, I understand it may not last too long so get cheap ones and do one assortment of nuts and bolts at a time?

I usually use all new hardware and don't worry about the original bolts or they get cleaned up for the most part from sandblasting and then I just wire brush anything that was missed.


:ditto:

I usually replace all nuts and bolts with new ones. except for an odd size

#11 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted March 21, 2011 - 06:28 PM

The only thing that is bad about replacing nuts and bolts is with the Massey's the bolt heads have MF on them, so if you are trying to do a perfect restore you gotta keep some of them. I am not partial though to doing a perfect restore as I would rather have new hardware. Especially stainless hardware LOL.

#12 mikebramel OFFLINE  

mikebramel

    Ron Paul

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 82
  • 176 Thanks
  • 1,009 posts
  • Location: Milwaukee

Posted March 21, 2011 - 06:31 PM

Not only that but alot of that chinese hardware is junk

#13 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted March 21, 2011 - 06:34 PM

Not only that but alot of that chinese hardware is junk


Why you buying chinese hardware? LOL j/k

#14 AV430 OFFLINE  

AV430

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2370
  • 53 Thanks
  • 130 posts

Posted March 21, 2011 - 10:48 PM

That is cool that Massey put MF on their bolts, I never knew that. I guess just clean them up with a lot of elbow grease, after all they can be some real MF ers!:bigrofl::bigrofl: Adam

#15 Salatino OFFLINE  

Salatino

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1100
  • 29 Thanks
  • 188 posts
  • Location: Cincinnati ohio

Posted March 22, 2011 - 07:38 AM

The only thing that is bad about replacing nuts and bolts is with the Massey's the bolt heads have MF on them, so if you are trying to do a perfect restore you gotta keep some of them. I am not partial though to doing a perfect restore as I would rather have new hardware. Especially stainless hardware LOL.


I know what you mean as far as the bolts being samped. There stamped on the cubs also. If I cant find a ood replacement bolt off one of my parts tractors I'll grab a sainless one but so far I've been lucky.I didnt know they were stamped ntill I stated to clean the 5 or 6 coats a paint of them.!




Top