Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Kohler engine swap?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,522 Thanks
  • 5,033 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted April 24, 2015 - 08:35 PM

I have a K-301 12hp Kohler from a Wheel Horse that is in bad condition. It's has more power than what I need for what I'm doing. I've been offered a nice K-241 10hp. out of a JD 110. I know they were built on the same crankcase but is there any other changes that would prevent me from swapping these engines?

Thanks for your help.


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#2 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted April 24, 2015 - 08:56 PM

Chris, the blocks aren't the same on the bottom I don't believe, Check out this thread.

 

http://gardentractor... series blocks


  • Cvans said thank you

#3 wvbuzzmaster OFFLINE  

wvbuzzmaster

    Squeaky Wheel

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1792
  • 4,493 Thanks
  • 7,341 posts
  • Location: West Virginia

Posted April 24, 2015 - 10:48 PM

I bought a JD210 for the engine and realized I couldn't use it on my tractor because there are engine mounting tabs cast onto the sides of the block itself.

Edited by wvbuzzmaster, April 24, 2015 - 10:48 PM.

  • Cvans said thank you

#4 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,522 Thanks
  • 5,033 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted April 24, 2015 - 11:44 PM

Man oh man what a mess. I guess I will just have to figure it out when I get the engine. Had no idea there were so many different versions of the same block. If nothing else I will just fabricate a different mounting plate. :wallbanging:    Used the 12hp. Kohler as a pattern figuring when I find a good engine they will interchange. 

Almost scared to ask the next question, do all the engines mount with 4 bolts like mine? Please tell me yes! 



#5 wvbuzzmaster OFFLINE  

wvbuzzmaster

    Squeaky Wheel

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1792
  • 4,493 Thanks
  • 7,341 posts
  • Location: West Virginia

Posted April 24, 2015 - 11:49 PM

No. Sorry. I think you can swap some oil pans around though, but the connecting rod dipper will need to be cut. I think you could make it work, but it may not look right ever.
  • Cvans said thank you

#6 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,522 Thanks
  • 5,033 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted April 24, 2015 - 11:56 PM

 After doing a little research it looks like the JD 110 was 8hp and he said his was a k241 10hp. so it must have come out of a JD210. I think I better get my ducks in a row tomorrow. 

Thanks guys!!!!!

I'll be back for the rest of the story.



#7 KC9KAS OFFLINE  

KC9KAS
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10038
  • 4,783 Thanks
  • 4,303 posts
  • Location: Holland, IN

Posted April 25, 2015 - 08:53 AM

Another question you may consider....Are both engines made with the bearing plate PTO end?


  • Cvans said thank you




Top