12 replies to this topic

#1 Nascar3244888 OFFLINE  

Nascar3244888

Tractorholic

• Member No: 1218
  • 164 Thanks
  • 593 posts

Posted March 20, 2011 - 05:27 PM

Well I went out to the auction in kempton pa yesterday and I wasnt really going to bid on anything, but then I came across something I could just not pass up....So I bid and won a 96-97 Troy Bilt GTX 20. Didnt pay much for it. I was able to start it and run it but noticed that the hydro feels like it doesnt want to go and when it does its very slow. Also none of the power steering or lift mechanisms work. It only has 69 hours on it....if its correct which the more i look at it, seems to be....It has a 2 speed rear which is hydrostatic, the front seal by the pump seems to have a leak and there also seems to be a leak by the top tube where the dipstick is. I have no real knowledge of these hydros and am going to need some help with this one. I really dont know where to start with it, I did remove the rear fender and gas tank and the hydro is totally visable now, but thats as far as I got. Is there a way to test it and see if indeed the pump is bad? I took quite a few pics of it so yous can see it. It is very well built and I want to fix her up because I know what our GTX 16 is like. It came with a 42" Deck similar to the 48" one the GTX 16 has, and by that I mean shaft driven with a gearbox, 3 blades, and same hookups as the 48". The tractor runs pretty well, and the deck is great, its just the hydro/hydraulics that I need help with. In one pic I took there is a Canns Bilco Service Sticker, which show an "A" service was performed in Feb. 2008... to give you a little history on this place...I found out about it from a guy interested in buying a bolens g14 I had a year ago. I never checked into the place though until recently, and what a great place it is..They no longer sell bolens/troy bilts but now sell kubota. Heres a Link: Pennsylvania Power Equipment Dealer: Lawn Mowers, Tractors, Snow Blowers, Trimmer