Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

Friday evening question, To till or not to till, that is the question.

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Member No: 54307
  • 6,123 Thanks
  • 3,208 posts

Posted April 17, 2015 - 02:58 PM

So any of you that have a garden, do you till then plant, or plow, disk and cultivate and then plant or do them all, then plant.  The reason I ask is, I read some where that if you till the soil, you run the risk of killing all the good bugs and earth worms, which is not good for the soil, just a reminder, I am not a professional gardener, I am just a guy who likes working the ground and planting something and hope it grows. So just wondering what your thoughts are.  Noel 

• tinbender7, boyscout862, BTS and 2 others have said thanks

#2 Bolens800uk OFFLINE  

Bolens800uk
  • Member No: 63893
  • 1,165 Thanks
  • 919 posts

Posted April 17, 2015 - 03:58 PM

What are you planning to plant out? As a professional gardener one of the issues of using Rotovators or Tillers is that you eventually pan the bottom of the ground. I.E. You are only tilling to a certain depth and then it's solid underneath. Ploughing is a way of breaking the panning or double digging is another way. For herbescous plants the roots are generally fibrous but vegetable growing require deep soil to get their roots in.

As ever, always work the soil when the conditions are right (weather and soil conditions).
  • Alc, tinbender7, boyscout862 and 3 others have said thanks

#3 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,807 Thanks
  • 7,547 posts

Posted April 17, 2015 - 04:39 PM

When the weather allows, I till compost in and let it set for a week or two. Weeds come up and then I till again. I seems to help slow the weeds down. Good Luck, Rick
  • Alc, tinbender7 and oldedeeres have said thanks

#4 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • 6,123 Thanks
  • 3,208 posts