Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Wiring


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted April 14, 2015 - 06:50 PM

Have an S-16H and my wiring started melting after installing a new starter solenoid. After analyzing the wiring I came to the conclusion my reset on the dash is bypassed and so are the diodes. What are they used for? Is it ok to have them bypassed?

#2 superaben OFFLINE  

superaben
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11204
  • 7,664 Thanks
  • 5,677 posts
  • Location: Shenandoah Valley, VA

Posted April 14, 2015 - 08:22 PM

If your wiring is melting, you have high amperage draw which means that if the circuit breaker was in place it would pop. 

 

If I was you, I would check your wiring against a wiring diagram and see what is happening.  You don't want a short burning up something more expensive than a wire.

 

Ben W.


  • HDWildBill and KC9KAS have said thanks

#3 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted April 14, 2015 - 08:41 PM

Too late for that!!! Ariens is only brand with these diodes? Deere doesn't use them that I know of! Can you get them anywhere?

#4 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted April 14, 2015 - 09:11 PM

And I should note my circuit breakers are wired in yet

Edited by 1964Deere, April 14, 2015 - 09:12 PM.


#5 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted April 15, 2015 - 07:21 AM

Did some more research and found out that the diodes I'm talking about is actually called a an interlock module. What exactly does it do?

#6 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6172
  • 3,528 Thanks
  • 3,917 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted April 15, 2015 - 05:25 PM

It keeps the tractor running when your bum bounces on the seat switch. One guy had built his own module. Here is the write up.  http://gardentractor...locktime-delay/



#7 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted April 15, 2015 - 09:51 PM

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1429152542.693722.jpg

So this module is only there to keep the tractor running?

What exactly does the reset button on the dash reset then?

#8 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6172
  • 3,528 Thanks
  • 3,917 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted April 16, 2015 - 02:43 PM

It has been a bit since I have messed with the wires, I forget which circuit they are in. Would you have the model number of your tractor? Then I could look for a wiring diagram.



#9 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted April 16, 2015 - 03:36 PM

It's an S-16h.

#10 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted April 16, 2015 - 03:41 PM

One wire goes to circuit breaker and the other to the interlock module. But I am but sure what it resets. The circuit breakers are automatic so is it resetting something in the module?

#11 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6172
  • 3,528 Thanks
  • 3,917 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted April 16, 2015 - 04:12 PM

There are different wiring for different years of the S-16. Its easiest going off the model number, a six digit starting with 931_ _ _



#12 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted April 16, 2015 - 04:40 PM

931010

#13 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted April 16, 2015 - 04:41 PM

It's a 1976.. Regardless of year that reset switch should serve the same purpose.

#14 Natureboy OFFLINE  

Natureboy
  • Member
  • Member No: 49649
  • 73 Thanks
  • 86 posts
  • Location: Upstate NY

Posted April 16, 2015 - 05:40 PM

attachicon.gifImageUploadedByTapatalk1429152542.693722.jpg

So this module is only there to keep the tractor running?

What exactly does the reset button on the dash reset then?


I believe the reset button on the dash re-starts the PTO if it shuts off when your butt bounces off the seat.

#15 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted April 16, 2015 - 06:16 PM

Ok thanks nature boy!




Top