Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Jacobsen vs John Deere electric clutch Kohler


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 fxdb96 OFFLINE  

fxdb96
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 56857
  • 118 Thanks
  • 105 posts
  • Location: Sebago Maine

Posted April 04, 2015 - 03:29 PM

Hey guys, a bought a JD K321AS to swap with the tired .030" over engine I am running now. I went to do the swap today and found out the shaft size is diff. The Jacobsen has a 1_1/8" shaft whereas the JD is only 1". I am wondering if I can make or buy a thin spacer to slide my "big" clutch over the Deere's smaller shaft. What do you all think? OR Anyone have a 1" clutch they want to trade for a 1_1/8"?

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20150404_155238344.jpg

  • A.C.T. said thank you

#2 stiemmy ONLINE  

stiemmy
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 53712
  • 1,300 Thanks
  • 1,101 posts
  • Location: Freekin cold central WI

Posted April 04, 2015 - 05:19 PM

You can get shaft bushings just about anywhere, I have even gotten them at Ace Hardware. The clutch should work as long as the belt groove lines up inline where it needs to be, and the sheave is the right dia. ;) 


  • MH81 said thank you

#3 fxdb96 OFFLINE  

fxdb96
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 56857
  • 118 Thanks
  • 105 posts
  • Location: Sebago Maine

Posted April 04, 2015 - 06:39 PM

You can get shaft bushings just about anywhere, I have even gotten them at Ace Hardware. The clutch should work as long as the belt groove lines up inline where it needs to be, and the sheave is the right dia. ;)



I did not know that. Thanks! What a relief there is a solution already available.

#4 stiemmy ONLINE  

stiemmy
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 53712
  • 1,300 Thanks
  • 1,101 posts
  • Location: Freekin cold central WI

Posted April 04, 2015 - 06:55 PM

I did not know that. Thanks! What a relief there is a solution already available.

No problem, glad to help! Have any other questions, by all means, fire away! :thumbs:



#5 stiemmy ONLINE  

stiemmy
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 53712
  • 1,300 Thanks
  • 1,101 posts
  • Location: Freekin cold central WI

Posted April 04, 2015 - 06:58 PM

Almost forgot to add, you will have to machine out a slot for the key in the bushing if you cant find one already cut, and don't forget you'll need a larger key too.

 

I have seen people take flat stock/plate, and roll it around a pipe to get the same results as well. 


Edited by stiemmy, April 04, 2015 - 07:01 PM.


#6 fxdb96 OFFLINE  

fxdb96
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 56857
  • 118 Thanks
  • 105 posts
  • Location: Sebago Maine

Posted April 04, 2015 - 07:10 PM

Yah we have lathes and Bridgeport's and stuff at work so I was gonna make one and cut a slot for keyway.... But I think I can buy one with a slot already.... So awesome

#7 txdieseldog OFFLINE  

txdieseldog
  • Member
  • Member No: 65961
  • 56 Thanks
  • 52 posts
  • Location: West Central TX, United States

Posted April 04, 2015 - 10:53 PM

If you go to evil-bay there is a company that machines them. I got one for pretty good deal. comes already machined with the slot and comes with an over-sized key that is rectangle instead of square. It was exactly what I needed. My invoice says they are called Equipatron. 

Good Luck


  • IamSherwood said thank you

#8 fxdb96 OFFLINE  

fxdb96
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 56857
  • 118 Thanks
  • 105 posts
  • Location: Sebago Maine

Posted April 05, 2015 - 05:44 AM

If you go to evil-bay there is a company that machines them. I got one for pretty good deal. comes already machined with the slot and comes with an over-sized key that is rectangle instead of square. It was exactly what I needed. My invoice says they are called Equipatron. 
Good Luck


Awesome thank you!

Any history behind why Kohler when to a smaller crank end size?

#9 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted April 05, 2015 - 05:52 AM

The cranks are different on the various JD models. The crank on a 314 which uses a K321AQS is 30mm in dia. which is a bit more than 1-1/8". One thing to watch when changing clutches is the diameter of the pulley. I know that he 314/317 uses a large 7" pulley where some of the Fords use a smaller one, maybe 5-1/2". That's a large difference in gearing if you cannot change out the pulley on the other end. 



#10 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,440 Thanks
  • 39,677 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted April 05, 2015 - 06:54 AM

The cranks are different on the various JD models. The crank on a 314 which uses a K321AQS is 30mm in dia. which is a bit more than 1-1/8". One thing to watch when changing clutches is the diameter of the pulley. I know that he 314/317 uses a large 7" pulley where some of the Fords use a smaller one, maybe 5-1/2". That's a large difference in gearing if you cannot change out the pulley on the other end. 

Brian, The JD engine is going in a Jake and he is using the Jake clutch. So all should be good there.


  • fxdb96 said thank you

#11 fxdb96 OFFLINE  

fxdb96
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 56857
  • 118 Thanks
  • 105 posts
  • Location: Sebago Maine

Posted April 09, 2015 - 06:26 PM

Everyone likes a good thread with PICTURES!  Ordered an adapter sleeve to get my one inch shaft converted to one and one eight inch. i had to cut the keyway to length.  I also had to drill some new mounting holes in the stationary plate that holds the coil.  Worked out good i think!

 

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg


  • KennyP said thank you

#12 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,440 Thanks
  • 39,677 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted April 09, 2015 - 06:29 PM

If'n it works for you, it works for us'ns!



#13 fxdb96 OFFLINE  

fxdb96
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 56857
  • 118 Thanks
  • 105 posts
  • Location: Sebago Maine

Posted April 12, 2015 - 06:18 AM

Uh oh.. next problem.  the flywheel adapter piece that connects the output shaft doesn't have the mounting bolt locations!  WHYY!!!??

 

I am thinking about slotting my adapter piece and then use some good washers.  Dangerous idea?

 

dd.jpg






Top