16 replies to this topic

#1 HowardsMF155 OFFLINE  

HowardsMF155

Tractorholic

• Member No: 4243
  • 2,699 Thanks
  • 2,916 posts

Posted March 10, 2015 - 08:44 PM

I've got a lead on a MF14 with a locked up engine.  I was wondering what some of the weak points would be.  Isn't the K341 one with the "grenade gears"?  What about the drive shaft?  Is it a weak point like on the 1655s and 1855s?  Are the hubs splined or keyed?  Is a 3 point hitch and option?

Thanks

#2 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

Electric Tractors

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts

Posted March 10, 2015 - 09:05 PM

I'm no expert but things to look for ???

- sloppy steering from worn bushings

- safety switch on the brake pedal

- ignition switch

- muffler

- broken/missing Hydro cooling fan

- loose parts from vibration

these are the trouble spots I've found

3 point is a desirable option

• HowardsMF155 and propane1 have said thanks

#3 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Member No: 54307
  • 6,110 Thanks
  • 3,202 posts

Posted March 10, 2015 - 09:11 PM

As far as I know , all the K Kohlers have those gears, but most people take them out when rebuilding. No troubles with the drive shaft on my MF14. 3 point is an option, none on mine. Front wheel bearings went on mine, not a big problem. 2 speed rear ends are good, no trouble with mine. Ignition switch went on mine, but that is some what common with any garden tractor. Charging system needed wire end replaced on mine, mostly little things with mine over the years. Had to replace the engine, but it was bad before I got it. Noel.
  • HowardsMF155 and Paulgo have said thanks

#4 esbbent OFFLINE  

esbbent

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 1183
  • 240 Thanks
  • 172 posts

Posted March 10, 2015 - 09:23 PM

I'm no expert but things to look for ???

- sloppy steering from worn bushings

- safety switch on the brake pedal

- ignition switch

- muffler

- broken/missing Hydro cooling fan