Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

1256 wont crank.


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 bread320i OFFLINE  

bread320i
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 416
  • 593 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts
  • Location: Richfield Wisconsin

Posted March 12, 2011 - 09:37 AM

For the past few days Ive been trying to get my 1256 going. My problem is the starter Generator wont crank over with the ignition switch. Ive checked the 2 safety switches and those are working. Ive gone through the wiring diagram (from sonnys site) and everything looks to be correct. I know the starter will turn over as I hooked my jumper pack to it, but with it all hooked up and the turn of the switch I get nothing. Ive been at the point for two days know. So what do I check first?

#2 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted March 12, 2011 - 09:50 AM

Have you checked the started solenoid,if not I would make that the next thing on the list.

#3 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted March 12, 2011 - 10:10 AM

As "olcawhand " would say, check the ground to frame. If it's not clean, it will show voltage but not carry enough current to turn starter over.

#4 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,443 Thanks
  • 6,608 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted March 12, 2011 - 10:28 AM

I don't know if this will help, if not I pm you my cell# and will walk you through it , Al
http://gardentractor...eshooting-5043/

#5 awol OFFLINE  

awol

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 1576
  • 77 Thanks
  • 339 posts
  • Location: Smiths Falls Ontario Canada

Posted March 12, 2011 - 10:41 AM

Have you checked the started solenoid,if not I would make that the next thing on the list.

:ditto:Check for 12 volts at the ignition Stud of your solenoid with key in start. If you have 12 volts then check main stud from the starter if you don't have 12 volts bad solenoid.

#6 bread320i OFFLINE  

bread320i
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 416
  • 593 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts
  • Location: Richfield Wisconsin

Posted March 12, 2011 - 11:29 AM

Theres a blue wire that runs from the ammeter to the starter solenoid, someone added a fuse to this wire, and that fuse keeps blowing. This tell me I have a short somewhere, but I can find one.

#7 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,443 Thanks
  • 6,608 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted March 12, 2011 - 12:46 PM

Does the fuse blow as soon as you put it in or when cranking the motor ?

#8 bread320i OFFLINE  

bread320i
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 416
  • 593 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts
  • Location: Richfield Wisconsin

Posted March 12, 2011 - 01:29 PM

Does the fuse blow as soon as you put it in or when cranking the motor ?

The fuse will blow when you turn thre switch to run. I just talked to a friend and he thinks the starter solenoid could be internally shorted causing the fuse to pop.

#9 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,443 Thanks
  • 6,608 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted March 12, 2011 - 01:52 PM

I would think if the solenoid is shorted it would only blow the fuse when cranking , I made up a jumper with a automotive circuit breaker so you don't keep replacing fuses. If you want to check the solenoid , leave the fuse out connect one clip to the battery+ and the other to where small red wire is attached to the solenoid, that should either crank the motor or trip the breaker.DSC07684.jpg
  • Nascar3244888 said thank you

#10 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,443 Thanks
  • 6,608 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted March 12, 2011 - 02:01 PM

If you don't have a circuit breaker and spade terminals to make the set-up like I did you can just use a regular jumper to test.

#11 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,669 Thanks
  • 17,196 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted March 12, 2011 - 09:56 PM

Here's the wiring Diagram
Alc, thats some great advice

Untitled.jpg
  • Nascar3244888 said thank you

#12 bread320i OFFLINE  

bread320i
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 416
  • 593 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts
  • Location: Richfield Wisconsin

Posted March 12, 2011 - 10:26 PM

I tried a new solenoid today and the problem still exist. the constant blowing of the fuse tells me I have a short, but cant find any.

#13 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,669 Thanks
  • 17,196 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted March 12, 2011 - 10:38 PM

Maybe the switch is faulty? :confuse:

#14 bread320i OFFLINE  

bread320i
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 416
  • 593 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts
  • Location: Richfield Wisconsin

Posted March 13, 2011 - 07:21 AM

Maybe the switch is faulty? :confuse:


I swaped the switch out already with a known working one.

#15 Bill56 OFFLINE  

Bill56

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 60
  • 839 Thanks
  • 2,179 posts
  • Location: N. E. Illinois

Posted March 13, 2011 - 07:58 AM

Good luck, Adam. Hope you can find the problem soon.




Top