• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Salatino OFFLINE  

Salatino

• Member No: 1100
  • 29 Thanks
  • 188 posts

Posted March 11, 2011 - 09:18 PM

hey everyone I'm not sure if this is the right place for this question but thought I would put it here anyways. Now I know its all in the prepwork but what brand,type of primer would you reccomend for painting cast iron? I'm no painter my any means! haha I'm not looking for a show finish or anything like that. I'm just looking for a fairly decent paint job on my gt. I've been spending alot of time cleanin it up and preppin it to paint it. Every peice has either been sandblasted "depending on size " or wire wheeled down to bare metal. There was so many coats of paint on my cub it was crazy. Some of the peices I've painted a while back was done in rustoleum & some in rustoleum filler primer. ,as far as color goes I'm usin Krylon " Old Equipment Yellow " I'm no expert but it seems tyo go on good for me and its not to exspensive,5.30 / can or somthing like that. NOt to mention I can go grab a few cans at a time when I need it. I try not to buy in bulk and sit on it. And yeah if ur wondering rimer is wet sanded b4 color. Any info would be nice. Thanks again for all your help

#2 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,653 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts

Posted March 11, 2011 - 09:22 PM

I would just use Krylon indoor/outdoor primer. That way you know it's perfectly compatible with your paint. I use the el-cheapo walmart brand gray primer for all my GT painting & it does amazingly well, and I'm shooting acrylic enamels over it.
  • Salatino said thank you

#3 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts

Posted March 11, 2011 - 10:02 PM