Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

my first garden tractor Bolens 1476


  • Please log in to reply
319 replies to this topic

#31 WrenchinOnIt ONLINE  

WrenchinOnIt
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8592
  • 2,519 Thanks
  • 734 posts

Posted March 06, 2015 - 02:17 PM

IMO ' when in doubt get it out' especially if it's been sitting for a while
  • accidentalchild and Antoniofuse have said thanks

#32 sodisr OFFLINE  

sodisr
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9153
  • 651 Thanks
  • 762 posts
  • Location: kenosha Wi

Posted March 06, 2015 - 03:03 PM

WOW :::nice looking machine.. I have one almost like it,,,The 1477...    I agree, Change the hydro oil and filter..For piece of mind and for your'e records..  Keeping records of everything is very important.. Not only for you But for the future owners,, Be it your'e family or next owner. It might even keep the resale value up with a good set of records and a log book...

 

I have been using a Havoline     T-35   filter for years with no problems......  I couldn't find   type A fluid anywhere  so  I use  type  F  trans fluid  ( Ford )..

 

I read here that some are using the  Hydro /gear  oil from Tractor Supply... Napa... also sells filters and oil......   NAPA  Filter  #  1310     Made by WIX..And  I'm not sure what they call their oil....

 

 ANY WAY    nice looking tractor    :rocker2:


  • MailmAn and accidentalchild have said thanks

#33 accidentalchild OFFLINE  

accidentalchild
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68112
  • 365 Thanks
  • 444 posts
  • Location: United States

Posted March 06, 2015 - 03:24 PM

Thanks guys, as I was changing the engine oil I thought to myself, the fluid my look new but what about the filter? So its getting changed. Thanks for you help. Also I don't believe my throttle lock works. It seems to work on and off. Or I am just plain doing it wrong.

#34 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,703 Thanks
  • 17,209 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted March 06, 2015 - 03:29 PM

Thanks guys, as I was changing the engine oil I thought to myself, the fluid my look new but what about the filter? So its getting changed. Thanks for you help. Also I don't believe my throttle lock works. It seems to work on and off. Or I am just plain doing it wrong.

 

I agree with Kevin to change the fluids. Always better to play it safe than take a chance!

 

Overtime the twist lock controls will wear out many times from the previous owners not unlocking them when they are switching speeds and other times they just plain wear out.

I stock two different options of locking cables if you need one.


  • accidentalchild said thank you

#35 WrenchinOnIt ONLINE  

WrenchinOnIt
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8592
  • 2,519 Thanks
  • 734 posts

Posted March 06, 2015 - 03:31 PM

... Also I don't believe my throttle lock works. It seems to work on and off. Or I am just plain doing it wrong.[/quote]

Pull it out to desired engine speed, turn it clockwise to lock in place, counterclockwise to unlock and adjust..repeat etc as desire/need.

Docs' right they wear out and I haven't found I good repair. Replace as recommended if it is worn.

Edited by WrenchinOnIt, March 06, 2015 - 03:46 PM.

  • Bolens 1000 and accidentalchild have said thanks

#36 accidentalchild OFFLINE  

accidentalchild
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68112
  • 365 Thanks
  • 444 posts
  • Location: United States

Posted March 06, 2015 - 04:19 PM

The guy I bought it from said they had someone work on the carb, is it possible he hooked it back up wrong? The cable itself twists when i turn the knob.

#37 accidentalchild OFFLINE  

accidentalchild
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68112
  • 365 Thanks
  • 444 posts
  • Location: United States

Posted March 06, 2015 - 04:23 PM

uploadfromtaptalk1425676936542.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1425676962091.jpg

#38 accidentalchild OFFLINE  

accidentalchild
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68112
  • 365 Thanks
  • 444 posts
  • Location: United States

Posted March 06, 2015 - 04:23 PM

uploadfromtaptalk1425676994495.jpg

#39 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,703 Thanks
  • 17,209 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted March 06, 2015 - 04:35 PM

Wow if thats the original cable from when it left the factory thats amazing!!!!

It looks almost new with no fading like most have from sun exposure. Could have been replaced also but great shape none the less.

 

Disconnect the "z" end of the cable from the engine and then try turning the cable to the right and see if it locks. Sometimes they can spin out of place if installed incorrectly, you may be able to revive it. If it still creeps or you can push it in after twisting all the way to the right its worn and needs replacing.


  • accidentalchild said thank you

#40 accidentalchild OFFLINE  

accidentalchild
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68112
  • 365 Thanks
  • 444 posts
  • Location: United States

Posted March 06, 2015 - 05:13 PM

Great I will try that trick with the cable. The seat on this is so nice I will prob remove it. At some point years from now I will want to restore the tractor, having a flawless seat will be nice.
  • MailmAn said thank you

#41 accidentalchild OFFLINE  

accidentalchild
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68112
  • 365 Thanks
  • 444 posts
  • Location: United States

Posted March 06, 2015 - 06:06 PM

I got the cable figured out, its working now. While the throttle was pulled out I could not turn it far enough to get tight. I ended up pushing it all the way in and then turning until it stopped than I backed it up a nudge and pulled on the throttle turned it a smidge and thank you Jesus it worked.

#42 accidentalchild OFFLINE  

accidentalchild
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68112
  • 365 Thanks
  • 444 posts
  • Location: United States

Posted March 06, 2015 - 06:09 PM

I just got to changing the spark plug and noticed its the exact model the manual calls for. This guy must have bought a box of them. I don't know when they stopped making that one but I would be curious.
  • Bolens 1000 said thank you

#43 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,703 Thanks
  • 17,209 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted March 06, 2015 - 06:13 PM

I just got to changing the spark plug and noticed its the exact model the manual calls for. This guy must have bought a box of them. I don't know when they stopped making that one but I would be curious.

 

Are you talking about the D16 Champion plug? If so Champion still makes that plug.

It was a very popular plug and used in almost every Wisconsin single cylinder engine.


  • accidentalchild said thank you

#44 accidentalchild OFFLINE  

accidentalchild
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68112
  • 365 Thanks
  • 444 posts
  • Location: United States

Posted March 06, 2015 - 06:19 PM

Yea it says d-16j . the auto parts guy got me the d-16 but said they didn't make the d-16j anymore. I asked him what the difference was and he didn't know.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20150306_151256_906.jpg

  • Bolens 1000 said thank you

#45 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,703 Thanks
  • 17,209 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted March 06, 2015 - 06:23 PM

I cant answer the question on when the "J" was dropped , Maybe one of the other seasoned L&G guys can.

Alot of the older plugs were given "New" numbers where they chopped a letter here and there but are built the same way.


  • accidentalchild said thank you




Top