Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

1993 Mazda B2600i is driving me nuts!


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#16 BTS ONLINE  

BTS

    Make Stuff Up

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11851
  • 2,711 Thanks
  • 1,720 posts
  • Location: BURNS KS

Posted March 05, 2015 - 12:24 PM

Yup, I checked the 4 part stores yesterday and no one had it. I'm going to half to order it and I'm not sure when I'm heading back to town.

I'll keep everyone posted.
Thanks


  • MH81, Cvans and chris m have said thanks

#17 BTS ONLINE  

BTS

    Make Stuff Up

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11851
  • 2,711 Thanks
  • 1,720 posts
  • Location: BURNS KS

Posted March 05, 2015 - 07:13 PM

Ok, I got in the new sensor today, the ol pickup ran for 6 minutes (instead of 2 minutes) and then quit. BUT it then restarted and ran for another minute (usually never restarts). The strange thing is the pickup will not restart till the next day, it can sit for 8 hours and still not start. But the next morning it will fire right up without missing a beat. The sensor I think might be out now is the Air Temperature Sensor that goes into the intake manifold. I checked it with the ohm meter and it didn't show anything? it should show around 3 ohms. This is a link to Oreily's about the sensor that I believe is out, it's a pricy bugger at $81.99.

http://www.oreillyau...02185&ppt=C0033

 

I have a couple ideas to check it with a dummy sensor and I'll see what happens. But the problem is I have 6 minutes a day to work on it and try to figure it out before I the pickup quits. I tried unplugging the battery and the computer but it didn't seem to help any.

I'll let everyone know if I find out anything, I'm also still taking ideas :poke:  :rolling:


  • MH81 said thank you

#18 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,210 Thanks
  • 28,584 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted March 05, 2015 - 07:19 PM

If you know what ohm reading a sensor should be, you should be able to sub in a resistor as a dummy load just for testing.
  • BTS said thank you

#19 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,469 Thanks
  • 5,005 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted March 05, 2015 - 07:28 PM

you should be able to sub in a resistor as a dummy load just for testing. 

 

Or  a small potentiometer. That would allow you to vary the resistance so you could see if that's what the gremlin is.


  • MH81 and BTS have said thanks

#20 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,443 Thanks
  • 6,609 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted March 05, 2015 - 08:00 PM

You wouldn't think that the air temp would change much as the engine warmed up ,but you never know . Maybe if you think its fuel ,pull the plugs maybe that would give some clues
  • BTS said thank you

#21 toomanytoys84 ONLINE  

toomanytoys84

    Aaron

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 45129
  • 8,222 Thanks
  • 5,069 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted March 05, 2015 - 08:24 PM

Or a small potentiometer. That would allow you to vary the resistance so you could see if that's what the gremlin is.


This works great and can be used to "simulate" many sensors.
  • MH81, Cvans and BTS have said thanks

#22 BTS ONLINE  

BTS

    Make Stuff Up

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11851
  • 2,711 Thanks
  • 1,720 posts
  • Location: BURNS KS

Posted March 05, 2015 - 11:20 PM

Thanks all, that is a great idea, I even have a potentiometer but wouldn't you know it, I can't find it! :wallbanging:. But I have a bunch of old knobs and pots from my guitars and a P.A that burned up. I took a pot that reads out were I need it. I glued a piece of plastic to it and I marked were it needs to be when cold and then warmed up.

 

I'm going to give this a try tomorrow morning and see what happens. Maybe if it works I can just put long wires on it and run it into the cab. Then I could just adjust it when I'm heading down the road :smilewink: :rolling:

Attached Thumbnails

  • Pictures 9999 025.jpg

  • MH81 said thank you

#23 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,469 Thanks
  • 5,005 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted March 05, 2015 - 11:50 PM

Hope this helps locate the trouble. Good luck!


  • BTS said thank you

#24 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,210 Thanks
  • 28,584 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted March 06, 2015 - 12:53 AM

Looks good. Just as long as it doesn't need to pass significant current.
Most sensors are very low current so you should be good.
  • Cvans and BTS have said thanks

#25 DougT ONLINE  

DougT

    Dog Approved

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 584
  • 5,715 Thanks
  • 4,274 posts
  • Location: north central Ohio

Posted March 06, 2015 - 07:06 AM

If you think its fuel, try spraying some brake or carb cleaner in it after it quits and see if it fires up. That wil tell you if its a fuel issue. Is this the one that's basically a Ford Ranger? If it has a 4 wire O2 sensor, you might ttry unplugging it and running it. I've seen the 12v heater wire short into the sensor wire and cause a shut down but that doesn't explain why it won't start for over 8 hours. Another thing i would try would be to put the computer in the freezer and cool it back off quick and see if it restarts You could also try heating it with a blow drier before you try to start it and see if anything changes. just because it was rebuilt doesn't mean its good. I've been reminded of that more than once.


  • MH81, Alc, Cvans and 1 other said thanks

#26 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,443 Thanks
  • 6,609 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted March 06, 2015 - 09:45 AM

Not sure if you'll be able to read this

 

Attached Files


  • KennyP, Cvans and BTS have said thanks

#27 BTS ONLINE  

BTS

    Make Stuff Up

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11851
  • 2,711 Thanks
  • 1,720 posts
  • Location: BURNS KS

Posted March 06, 2015 - 11:38 PM

Thanks for the info and the link.

Yes this is basically a ford ranger, it has a 2 wire O2 Sensor, I unplugged it but it didn't do anything. But I did pull it out and I tested it and I believe it is bad. But I don't know if this will cause my problems or not?. I also tried leaving the O2 sensor plugged up but having it removed from the manifold and just have it hanging out in the open. But at last it didn't make a difference.

I checked the Coolant temp sensor and it is good. So that is one more sensor down and who knows how many more to go.

 

Thanks again for everyone's help, hopefully one of these days it will be running!



#28 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,210 Thanks
  • 28,584 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted March 07, 2015 - 08:41 AM

Oil pressure & sensor OK?
  • BTS said thank you

#29 BTS ONLINE  

BTS

    Make Stuff Up

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11851
  • 2,711 Thanks
  • 1,720 posts
  • Location: BURNS KS

Posted March 07, 2015 - 12:55 PM

According to the gauge in the dash it has good oil pressure, I'll look up on how to test the sensor.

THANKS



#30 toomanytoys84 ONLINE  

toomanytoys84

    Aaron

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 45129
  • 8,222 Thanks
  • 5,069 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted March 07, 2015 - 02:05 PM

Most of those oil pressure sensors are dumb. Example 10 to 30 is good and below 10 is bad. I've never seen an oil pressure sensor shut off a vehicle though
  • BTS said thank you




Top