Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

MF 12 Carb Linkage


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 esbbent OFFLINE  

esbbent

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 1183
  • 240 Thanks
  • 172 posts
  • Location: Colfax IA

Posted February 28, 2015 - 09:22 AM

Does anyone have a picture of the carb linkage for a MF 12? I have the service manual but it does not have a clear picture. I am putting on a replacement carb. The way it looks like the linkage hooks up seems backwards, I have the old carb still but it doesn't help either. I know I should have taken a picture before taking the carb off to begin with. :wallbanging:


  • IamSherwood and Sawdust have said thanks

#2 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted February 28, 2015 - 09:43 AM

I just looked, but sorry I don't.

I can get you lots, tomorrow afternoon.

Hopefully someone has some sooner.



#3 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,300 Thanks
  • 28,626 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted February 28, 2015 - 09:45 AM

I just searched for a while. You're right, nothing on the site.
If it was a 7,8,14,16, or a 4 digit... You'd be in business.
I will have to mine my way thru the snow to the other building, but I can do that later today.

#4 esbbent OFFLINE  

esbbent

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 1183
  • 240 Thanks
  • 172 posts
  • Location: Colfax IA

Posted February 28, 2015 - 10:44 AM

I just looked, but sorry I don't.

I can get you lots, tomorrow afternoon.

Hopefully someone has some sooner.

Will-Tomorrow afternoon will be fine.

 

I just searched for a while. You're right, nothing on the site.
If it was a 7,8,14,16, or a 4 digit... You'd be in business.
I will have to mine my way thru the snow to the other building, but I can do that later today.

MH81-thanks, I looked on the site also and didn't see one.



#5 Sawdust OFFLINE  

Sawdust
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 36549
  • 4,523 Thanks
  • 2,831 posts
  • Location: Butler, Kentucky

Posted February 28, 2015 - 10:47 AM

If these don't help let me know & I can take a few more. I still have the carb & engine together as it was but the rest of the tractor has been SB, & primed.

 

MF13.jpg MF14.jpg

 


  • MH81 said thank you

#6 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,300 Thanks
  • 28,626 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted February 28, 2015 - 02:53 PM

Here are the ones off my MF12g.

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpg
  • image.jpg
  • image.jpg
  • image.jpg

  • IamSherwood and Sawdust have said thanks

#7 esbbent OFFLINE  

esbbent

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 1183
  • 240 Thanks
  • 172 posts
  • Location: Colfax IA

Posted February 28, 2015 - 11:30 PM

Here are the ones off my MF12g.

Thanks, that answers my question. It looks to me like I need to drill a bigger hole for it to hook correctly to pull the throttle the correct way. Here is how I have it set now. 100_0190.JPG (sorry about picture being blurry)


  • MH81 said thank you

#8 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,300 Thanks
  • 28,626 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted March 01, 2015 - 12:21 AM

Can't quite see what you mean in that pic, but I'm glad the pics were able to get the point across.
Where did you get the carb again?

#9 esbbent OFFLINE  

esbbent

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 1183
  • 240 Thanks
  • 172 posts
  • Location: Colfax IA

Posted March 01, 2015 - 08:08 AM

Can't quite see what you mean in that pic, but I'm glad the pics were able to get the point across.
Where did you get the carb again?

Carb was bought online thru Banta saw as a replacement carb for the hh120. The only issues I have came across is I had to replace the mounting studs with allen head bolts due to no room to put the nut back on and the linkage issue from the governor to the carb. It also has a extra port by the choke, looks like for a breather tube.


  • MH81 said thank you

#10 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,300 Thanks
  • 28,626 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted March 01, 2015 - 09:13 AM

Carb was bought online thru Banta saw as a replacement carb for the hh120. The only issues I have came across is I had to replace the mounting studs with allen head bolts due to no room to put the nut back on and the linkage issue from the governor to the carb. It also has a extra port by the choke, looks like for a breather tube.


That will need to be plugged, I believe.

#11 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,461 Thanks
  • 39,690 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 01, 2015 - 09:43 AM

Thanks, that answers my question. It looks to me like I need to drill a bigger hole for it to hook correctly to pull the throttle the correct way. Here is how I have it set now. attachicon.gif100_0190.JPG (sorry about picture being blurry)

On the blurry pic, back the camera up a bit. Then get a program to work with the pic once on the computer. I use PhotoScape. I can crop and resize pics to get what I want to show without the blurs.



#12 esbbent OFFLINE  

esbbent

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 1183
  • 240 Thanks
  • 172 posts
  • Location: Colfax IA

Posted March 01, 2015 - 10:01 AM

I finally got the camera on the correct setting here is a picture of the hook up.carb circled correct.jpg . I believe the rod needs hooked to the hole with the circle for it to work correctly.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 000_0003.JPG

  • KennyP said thank you

#13 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,461 Thanks
  • 39,690 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 01, 2015 - 10:22 AM

That looks like the correct hole compared to the pics Alan posted. But your rod is not bent like his on the ends. Looks like his had a zee bend in it and may be a bit longer.


  • esbbent said thank you

#14 Sawdust OFFLINE  

Sawdust
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 36549
  • 4,523 Thanks
  • 2,831 posts
  • Location: Butler, Kentucky

Posted March 01, 2015 - 10:37 AM

Kenny is right you need a z bend at the end of your cable. Your not going to get a good push & pull stroke with that hook bend. A brass or Teflon bushing in that hole would be good too. That hole being much larger than the cable will have too much slop & will put a lot of wear on the carb.

Edited by Sawdust, March 01, 2015 - 10:38 AM.


#15 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,300 Thanks
  • 28,626 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted March 01, 2015 - 12:43 PM

The piece on the end of your throttle shaft is not correct for the MF application. None of the holes are behind the pivot point
I will go back Down today and get some more measurements.
You're going to have to make an adapter plate to bolt on top of the one you have to make it work
  • Sawdust said thank you




Top