Jump to content

Vote for Featured Tractor of the Month!
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Need help installing voltmeter


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#16 Bruce Dorsi ONLINE  

Bruce Dorsi

    Old, but not dead -- yet!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1525
  • 3,759 Thanks
  • 2,384 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted February 27, 2015 - 03:26 PM

 

 

Hook both wires from the ammeter together on the (+) side of the volt meter and install a Ground wire and it will work perfectly.  No other rewiring is needed except the (-) side needs a wire to ground.  Simple..

 

 

 

 

Hooking up the voltmeter this way will cause the voltmeter to display ALL the time.   ......The original poster wanted the voltmeter to work only while the key was in the "ON" position.


  • MH81 said thank you

#17 WNYTractorTinkerer ONLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 9,251 Thanks
  • 5,123 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted February 27, 2015 - 03:47 PM

My bad Bruce..  Should have looked where the ammeter was hooked to.  Usually on the Run side of the circuit..  Gotta stop drinking so much coffee! Never mind the poor advice!   :hitting_self_roller:



#18 CraftsmanGT OFFLINE  

CraftsmanGT
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 67395
  • 198 Thanks
  • 239 posts
  • Location: Deer Park WI

Posted February 27, 2015 - 05:27 PM

So splice the + side into the "L" wire a - to ground. Easy enough. Thanks

#19 grattone OFFLINE  

grattone
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 66237
  • 308 Thanks
  • 219 posts
  • Location: Stanleytown, Va.

Posted February 27, 2015 - 08:19 PM

I agree with CraftsmanGT  "L" is + with switch on, - goes to a good ground and amp meter wires splice together ( make that a good splice your charge circuit and most everything else goes through that connection. good luck



#20 CraftsmanGT OFFLINE  

CraftsmanGT
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 67395
  • 198 Thanks
  • 239 posts
  • Location: Deer Park WI

Posted February 28, 2015 - 02:50 PM

Well I got it wired up today. shows 13 volts with the key on, 14.5 volts idling, and 15/16 volts at full throttle
  • Bruce Dorsi said thank you

#21 CraftsmanGT OFFLINE  

CraftsmanGT
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 67395
  • 198 Thanks
  • 239 posts
  • Location: Deer Park WI

Posted March 01, 2015 - 12:11 AM

IMG_20150228_122641.jpg
Here it is. I'd like to put it in the dash at some point
  • KennyP said thank you




Top