• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 greenb69 ONLINE  

greenb69
  • Member No: 65681
  • 268 Thanks
  • 210 posts

Posted February 11, 2015 - 05:51 AM

I have read several posts and I am still a bit confused. I have a 1980 powerking 1612 with single trans. Hydro. and 3 point. I want to get a box blade for it and the smallest is 3 foot. A post says that they require 4 horse per foot. With my 12 horse Kohler should I consider getting a 16 horse to repower it and if so what do I look for?
It just seems wrong dragging a 3 foot blade behind this tractor. It just looks capable of so much more.
I have a C-121 wheelhorse with the 12 horse Kohler and 8 speed and it is a beast. I am new to powerking so not sure of their capabilities.
Any feedback would be great.
Thanks
  • tinbender7 said thank you

#2 Alc OFFLINE  

Alc

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,458 Thanks
  • 6,627 posts

Posted February 11, 2015 - 06:19 AM

I made a 4 foot blade from an old snowplow that I use behind my 2418  but mines repowered the opposite way lol  it has  a 12 hp . I don't run out of pulling power it's more the tires spin even with  the tires filled along with 120 lb wheel weights each side

• MH81 and tinbender7 have said thanks

#3 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,319 Thanks
  • 28,636 posts

Posted February 11, 2015 - 07:53 AM

The 4 horse per foot rating is possibly a mfg suggestion for newer engines. Our older engines seem to have a lot more torque and ability to preform under load.

I have a 3' er for my Sleeve hitch tractors. I have never run out of power and we were running it with Ryans 10 one day.
i would expect the PK tranny and its bigger wheels will help with most issues, they are very capable machines.

#4 Gtractor ONLINE  

Gtractor

The Tractor Hoarder

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 782
  • 6,629 Thanks